Day 32 - Perugia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
May 19th 2011
Published: May 23rd 2011
Edit Blog Post

I did a day trip to Assisi today. It is only 20 minutes away by train.

When I arrived in Assisi I got a bus from the train station to the town proper. I walked down to the centre and immediately fell in love with the town. It has small cobbled streets with beautiful buildings flanking all the roads. It is the kind of town that you could easily get lost in but not be at all bothered about it. I went for a wqonder and had a look at the duomo as well as St Francis' basilica and other churches. I then headed up to rocca maggiore. This is a castle perched high above the town. I had a good look around there and climbed the towers to get amazing views of the town and the surrounding countryside.

I then went back into the town sat down to eat (I had gnocchi (very nice) and a beer). I then caught the 8pm train back to Perugia. Just relaxed during the evening, reading before heading off to bed,

Advertisement



Tot: 0.307s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0919s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb