Altre Cose: Other things


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
September 13th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday Night ConcertTuesday Night ConcertTuesday Night Concert

Here are all the people in Piazza IV Novembre on a Tuesday Night. Crazy.
Here are just some other random things that have been going on here in Perugia during the week. I started my actual classes on Wednesday and am finished with the intensive Italian week. Classes seem to be going well other than my ridiculously awful schedule. My classes are later in the day than I would prefer; I am used to having class in the morning and being done early in the afternoon, but this semester I don't even start class until 11am and sometimes I am not done until 7pm. This will take some getting used to.

On Tuesday, there was a techno concert in Piazza IV Novembre with a light show. It was pretty cool, but it started really late. You wouldn't believe how many people were there! The whole piazza was crowded and people filled all of Corso Vannucci! (the main street through town). People of all ages were there; adults, teens, kids--everyone!

I also experienced my first train strike this weekend. Trains that run in and out of Florence were down for 24 hours beginning Friday at 9pm. I had planned to go to Cortona on Friday, but changed my plans after I had to wait
Gelato anyone?Gelato anyone?Gelato anyone?

This is a really good gelato place in Piazza Italia.
a long time to get my Permesso di Soggiorno paperwork handed in and one of the instructors said there wasn't much to do there. So from there I planned to go to Siena on Saturday for the day (today), but once again my plans were thwarted! I rained really hard last night and is forcasted to rain all afternoon/evening today, but so far I haven't seen a drop, just clouds. I will be so upset if it doesn't rain and I didn't go, but I think I will plan to reschedule for 2 weeks from now. Today I plan to go to the National Gallery art Museum and maybe the Natural History Museum, open hours permitting. Also, I should probably do some homework. 😊

It was two of my roommates' birthdays this week, one on Thursday and one on Friday. All five of us went out on Thursday night to celebrate. We went to a ristorante down the street called "dal mi'cocco". There you can get a four course meal for 13 euro! You get an antipasto (starter), primi (first course, ususally pasta), secondi (second course, usually meat and a side), and dolci (dessert). The only catch is there
RoommatesRoommatesRoommates

This was Tuesday when we went for some gelato. (Jackie, Me, Katie, Megan, Lacey)
is no choice in what you order; you take a menu and it explains what they serve on which day of the week. All the food was really good and it was kind of nice to not have to decide what to order in Italian, because sometimes we have no idea what we are ordering. This ristorante is significantly cheaper than other places that serve several course meals. You usually pay per course--most prices range 7-12 euro PER course, so if you order more than one or two the prices climbs pretty quickly. I haven't gone out to eat that much, mostly for this reason and I have plenty of food from the grocery store. Don't get me wrong not all places are like this, but if you want a sit down supper this is what you would find. Other places where you can buy pizza or gyros or something else quick you usually don't sit--you buy and then leave.

There are many differences that I am finding here--not bad just different. I think the hardest aspect of living here is how difficult it is to find what you are looking for. For example, if you want contact solution
B-day dinner @  'dal mi'cocco'B-day dinner @  'dal mi'cocco'B-day dinner @ 'dal mi'cocco'

Here we all are on Thursday night going out to dinner. (Me, Kaite, Lacey, Megan, Jackie)
you have to go to an eye store, if you want hair products you have to go to a salon, if you want dishes or cookware you have to go to an appliance store. There is not a store that carries everything. I looked for a day planner for about 3 days, because I couldn't find the office supply store. There are many small adjustments!

Well that's all I can think of for now, hope everyone is doing well!


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

DowntownDowntown
Downtown

Downtown is the pub that is down our street--it has a great international atmosphere and the owners even bought the girls birthday cake! Everyone is really friendly and nice.
KittyKitty
Kitty

This is our kitty that comes to visit. he just crawls right in our window, looks around, then leaves.
Kitty Kitty
Kitty

Here he is again--he is looking at his reflection in the oven. :)


Tot: 0.313s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0675s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb