All Around Perugia


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Perugia
September 5th 2008
Published: September 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Piazza IV Novembre 54 secs
2: Drug Dogs 22 secs
3: Overlook Perugia 2 55 secs
4: My House 69 secs
5: Overlook Perugia 1 56 secs
Piazza IV NovembrePiazza IV NovembrePiazza IV Novembre

here is the fountain and other buildings...kind of the center of the old city
Ok All-- I have gone around Perugia a bit and taken some pictures that I will Post on here and I also took some videos too! They will help you get a better idea of where I am and what it is like here.

The last few days I have been in class for the "intensive Italian" week where we only take Italian class that prepares us for our future course and then there is a "getting around town" section that sends us on excursions where we, guess what, learn how to get around town! For one excursion we went to a bar/caffe and looked at the menu and had to order something and for the second one we went in groups to the bus station to ask questions about certain bus routes and prices. They have been pretty interesting and helpful, but sometimes the helpful hints are too late. For example, my roommates and I got on a bus on Monday intending to go to the grocery store and back... all began well, we made it to the store, bought groceries, but then all went awry. We got on the wrong bus and rode it for about 30 minutes
Piazza IV NovembrePiazza IV NovembrePiazza IV Novembre

other side of the piazza
and then realized it was taking us to the highway and very far away from the center of Perugia. Luckily the driver dropped us off at the next stop and told us which bus to get on to get back, but it was still a long trek from the bus station to our apartment when we finally reached the old city again!

As you will notice the city is very unorganized, road wise. There are many allies and turns; no regular square grids like in the US. Sorry I don't know all the names to the landmarks yet, but they are pretty to see anyway. I walked around forever because I kind of got a little lost and nothing looked familiar, so I guess I just took the long way. The good thing about Perugia is the center of the old city is alway up, whenever you are in doubt climb up and you will find something you remember. In some of the pictures you will see German Shepards and a police demonstration...coming back from the bus station one day some girls and I came across the gates blocking off the square and decided to see what was going
pigeonpigeonpigeon

he wanted my food
on. The police were doing a demonstration with their drug dogs. There were demonstrations of listening and following directions and there were demonstrations of what happens when criminals don't obey...a guy gets attacked by the dog. The coolest one was where a dog jumped into a moving vehicle to attack a guy. Unfortunately, I didn't get a video of this one.

Last night my roommates and I went to a nice supper and were able to talk to the cameriere(waiter) and some people at the next table. They told us some things about Perugia and we exchanged things about the US. Guess what! we talked almost completely in Italian. It is amazing what you can say when you are forced to communicate. Anyway this paragraph is to explain what the food pictures are of...I had lasagne (yes the spelling is correct) as the first course and roasted lamb for the second--delicious. The lamb you had to eat with you hands because of the bone, I had to have the waiter explain this to me, how embarassing! But anyway the food was great, we stayed and talked forever, and the people were great!

Ok, that's all I can think
Calcio fieldCalcio fieldCalcio field

soccer field and track next to bus station
of now, so I will upload pictures and videos! Ciao!


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Una chiesaUna chiesa
Una chiesa

Church next to soccer field
FortressFortress
Fortress

The old fortress in Perugia is underground and is now the connection to the train and bus station. It still has the old narrow roads and everything.
FortressFortress
Fortress

Underground fortress again
FortressFortress
Fortress

and again
roadroad
road

Looking toward Piazza IV Novembre
Dina and IDina and I
Dina and I

This is Dina and I on the same street looking toward the Piazza. Dina is in my Italian language class.
DSCN0970DSCN0970
DSCN0970

Sorry I don't know... the picture is too small for me to tell where this is...
Drug DogsDrug Dogs
Drug Dogs

I got to pet one of the Drug/attack dogs! I showed no fear ;)
Il cane e la poliziaIl cane e la polizia
Il cane e la polizia

The drug dog and the controller
PerugiaPerugia
Perugia

These are buildings... I took the picture from a bridge.
Before dinnerBefore dinner
Before dinner

Roommates before dinner...Jacki, Lacey, Katie, Megan, Me
Katie and MeganKatie and Megan
Katie and Megan

The girls at the table
Grilled LambGrilled Lamb
Grilled Lamb

For the second course I had lamb...mmm.
LasagneLasagne
Lasagne

first course was lasagne
Lindsey, Jacki, LaceyLindsey, Jacki, Lacey
Lindsey, Jacki, Lacey

Us girls at the table
Etruscan ArchEtruscan Arch
Etruscan Arch

Here is the arch we walk through every day to get to school. THen up a very STEEP hill.


Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0323s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb