Assisi


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Umbria » Assisi
February 7th 2009
Published: February 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hello from Assisi.

This morning we woke up early at around 7:45, boarded a train, and traveled 3 hrs by bus to a small town north east of Rome called Assisi.

The town was much quieter then 2 years ago when I went during the summer of 2006 when it was tourist season.

This time the pictures were easier to snap without getting random people and everything seemed more tranquil. Our tour guide was excellent and we learned a great deal about the history of Saint Francis of Assisi who gave up his noble life to live with the poor and preach the word of God.

The tour guide showed us around the Basilica of S. Francesco filled with wonderful paintings, arches, and statues. No pictures allowed inside so you wont see any posted. Sorry guys.

In the crypt of the Basilica is where S. Francis is buried. There is a grate covering the stones which create his tomb. St. Francis is my grandfathers saint and although its not the exact saint that he is named after, I do connect St. Francis of Assisi with him. While in the crypt I had time to pray and reflect. For those of you that don't know my grandfather passed away very suddenly due to cancer this past October. He was a great man and I miss him very much. While I passed around the tomb there was a ledge where people have reached through the grate to put pictures of loved for whatever reason. I left a picture I have been carrying in my wallet of my grandfather, dad, and me and left it on the ledge. For me this was the most important part of Assisi.

Other than that we saw another Basilica, this time of St. Claire and climbed the mountain to a Castle called Rocca Maggiore.

Hope you guys enjoy the pictures. I have about 80 pictures from this town but I wasn't able to upload allow of them. Picked out some good ones along with the couple that I have of Laura and me. Enjoy.





Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



8th February 2009

Where is the dove?
The pictures you take are so beautiful!I was wondering what happen to the dove by the doors of the church? Are we getting any of that chocolate in the mail?lol
9th February 2009

Reflections
We remember your Grandfather warmly and he is loved and missed. We are happy to see you both looking so well. We heard this time you took the steps to the castle! xox Charles, Laura, Nina

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0685s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb