good ol Tuscany


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
May 4th 2005
Published: May 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

sorry folks, this entry will probably be a tad boring. After an exciting walk down Lee Avenue in Brooklyn, I flew down to Virginia the next day to see some relatives in Norfolk. This city was a nice suburban contrast to the busy pace of New York though not being able to walk to the Target store two blocks down is a bit depressing because there are no sidewalks. The city is a military town as there is a navy base close by I believe. Stores offer military discounts and many people have the yellow ribbon decal on their cars saying support the troops.
From New York, I headed back to Toronto to catch my flight to Rome via Frankfurt. I'm greatly appreciative of the non-smoking laws (in public places) in Canada. As soon as I stepped off the plane in Frankfurt I could smell the stale smoke wafting past.
Italy, unfortunately, has lost a bit of its glamour but waking up this morning and seeing the gorgeous rolling hills and vineyards of Tuscany makes the plane ride (and money spent) well worth it. Random fact of today. My archaeological dig is based out of a place called Osaia (near Cortona, the school I went to). The name is a tribute to a battle between the Romans and Carthaginians, during the Hannibalic Wars, that was fought in that very area near Lake Trasimene.
I'm on my way to inhale some genuine Italian gelato and check out a medieval festival in Cortona this saturday. Will update you guys later on the exciting progress of this archaeological field school.

Advertisement



10th November 2005

Tuscany.PodTravels.TV
When I miss tuscany I travel to it virtually with http://tuscany.podtravels.tv (tptv). They have lots of nice home-made videos of tuscany.

Tot: 0.289s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 22; qc: 95; dbt: 0.089s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb