18th Aug - Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany
August 20th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Pisa Pisa Pisa

The grounds around the leaning tower of Pisa
Hello all from Sestri Levanto, near Genova on the coast of Italy, at our lowest quality camping ground yet.
Today we packed up camp and went to Pisa - to see the world famous leaning tower of Pisa. Yip - it’s definitely on a massive lean! The grounds around Pisa were really nice so we had a look at all the buildings, and of course the leaning tower. Nothing much to say about the tower other then it looks just like it does in the pictures. I had the typical photo taken with me pushing up the tower. It’s quite funny seeing this long row of people all doing the same thing, with their hands in the air holding an imaginary tower!
Pisa also had a whole lot of African men trying to sell their wares - accept this time it was hand held and was mainly watches, sunglasses, belts and toy train letters. There were also heaps of other street vendors selling all the touristy things - we had to buy a mini replica of the leaning tower, of course.
We had a wander around the town, in the boiling hot mid-day. Then we bought a take-away pizza for lunch so I could have my pizza at Pisa! Yah! We even found a nice somewhat shady spot not far from the tower to eat our lunch. So now that my mission was complete - we carried on back to the car. On the way to the car I spotted a handbag which I liked which I had spotted at the earlier handbag experience in Venice (I know, I found a handbag that I liked - shock horror!). Anyway, I managed to bargain them down, all of €1.00 - but hey, every euro counts, and got myself a brand new handbag - the second one in my life that I’ve purchased myself!
We drove on to find a nice camping spot near the sea, unfortunately the one we had our eye on was completed booked so we carried on and found one in the next town. Yip - still expensive, yet it lacked toilet paper, rubbish bins, warm water, had dirty washing up sinks, oh yeah - and missing toilet seats! Daniel had great delight in having his shower as his drain was blocked so all the water went pouring out under the door and around the bathroom!
Sleep in Italy is kind of hard as the Italians like to talk at a decibel rating quite similar to our yelling level. Then they get around in groups and yak all at once at that level. And no-one goes to bed before 11pm and yet are still up at 7am. Never mind - tomorrow we’re off to Switzerland where hopefully it will be a bit quieter.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0542s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb