Heading to Elba


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Volterra
July 5th 2007
Published: July 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was a great day. We started out with a downhill ride from Volterra to a nearby tourist town, and took a shuttle back to the hotel, which meant that I had plenty of time for the hot tub, suana and "emotional showers". Emotional showers are showers, but with multiple sprayers, colored lights and piped-in music. You set a program and they blast you with alternating hot and cold water from various directions while the lights change color. To get their full effect, though, I think one would have to drop acid.

At 4:30, the group headed up into the old city where a dutch tourguide gave us an excellent review of Volterra - and I kicked myself for forgetting my camera.

Volterra was originally founded by the Etruscans some time before 500 BC and then subseqently conquered by the Romans. So it was a real treat to visit the Etruscan Museum (full of alabaster funeral urns, as alabaster has always been a major industry here), the roman baths and amphetheater and the city walls.

Paulo then arranged a wine tasting in the cellar of a local "Hostello" (I'm sure I'm misspelling that - basically the Italian version of a pub, but with wine). There was also a karaoke machine down there so we sang quite a bit after the wine. Everyone was so impressed with my Prince impression. Of course, When I'm 64 was a big hit, too.

Folks broke up for dinner, and Paulo and GianPaulo told me to stick around. We had a rustic meal at the Hostello of bean and barley soup and some meats. They were so proud of me when I was the one who got up to grab the olive oil before they could - they told me that many people just come here and get steaks - they don't really experience Italy. Thanks for teaching me about mopping my plate with bread, mom!

Ok, time to saddle-up. Next stop - Elba.

-Eric

Advertisement



Tot: 0.148s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb