Hills, coffee and tiramisu


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
May 13th 2005
Published: May 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Leslie is at school and I am on my own right now. Yesterday I spent the morning in San Domenico leaning against the pillar that St. Catherine used to lean against whenever the Mantellata and the rest of the city rejected her or when the priest told her she could not receive Eucharist. I wrote pages and pages in my journal about that experience! I have also found the name of the street on which she had her first experience of God's call on her life and will visit that once I am finished here. Unfortunately, it is way down the longest hill in the city, I think, which means I will have a long climb back up somewhere.

Hills here are amazing. I am certain that the Sienese could make a fortune as cat burglars in the rest of the world: they should be able to walk on any roof, including that of the Empire State Building, after growing up on these streets!

We finally found out that cafe Americano is cheaper than capuccino, and stronger, so are enjoying that a bit more often, but no more than twice a day or we are still chatting at midnight!

Last night Leslie's class had organized a dinner at the home of her teacher. Teacher's family runs a bed and breakfast just outside of Siena and offers a genuine Tuscan meal for a good price to the students of the school and their travelling partners. We had a blast! And we were introduced not only to scalloped artichokes but to homemade genuinely Tuscan tiramisu. It was almost a religious experience!! Oh my goodness!! I am hooked and am going to be very, very particular about what passes as tiramisu in Canada. This lady is one heck of a good cook, with good simple, fresh food and a dessert to die for. The class is international in flavour and eclectic in behaviour, as all large groups of people are, so we had a great time talking with them in fractured Italian, English, French and whatever else we could come up with after the first...or was it the second...bottle of Chianti. I have never been a Chianti lover but the wine here is marvellous and inexpensive so I am becoming a bit of a fan of that, too. Whether the stuff we get at home is as good or not, I will have to determine when I get back to Canada.

One other treat was the little granddaughter, Emma, who gave me a kiss on the cheek in true Italian style, and also blew me a kiss just like wee Naylan does at home. I think Naylan was sending me a big kiss through the baby network via wee Emma. Thank you, Naylan. Grandma says Hi to all her grandchildren with lots of love!!

I have a sense in the back of my head that I am forgetting something but cannot remember what, ergo am not going to worry about it. Time is running out on my Internet card here so I had best run. Les will check in today or tomorrow, I am sure and will keep everyone posted on her adventures.

We miss you and send our love and prayers for your well-being.

Margo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb