Day 12 - more fun in Siena


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
October 21st 2013
Published: November 9th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Awoke to another fabulous day in Siena, albeit very wet. I understand this storm made national news. Had a leisurely morning before heading off in the rain to the nearest bus-stop where we experienced a lightning strike and thunder so loud several were happy we were all wearing dark coloured pants! A local bus-ride into town, where hundreds were sheltering from the storm. We settled into a Lebanese/Jordanian/Egyption/Italian restaurant for a fairly average kebab and pizza meal. Greg and Irene's bags, still being in China - or somewhere - meant a trip to the department store for some clothing. In the end we decided we couldn't stay dry so Rebecca and I stomped our way through the puddles in the piazza (proving I'm young at heart, slightly older in other places!). We visited Museo Civico and a duomo or two, marvelling again at the narrow lanes and fabulous architecture the city has to offer. Even a decent coffee couldn't warm us up (several people are clogged up with the snivels) so we headed 'home' via a supermarket, for wifi catchups, cuppa, vino, cards prior to heading out to a nearby, very traditional pizzeria for (you guessed it) more vino and delicious pizza with our new mate, the owner, Tony - and Siena playing Rome in soccer playing on the TV in the background. I've tried again but I am still not into olives, anchovies or artichokes. Rebecca clearly mistakenly thought it was a Greek restaurant and smashed her glass of very sticky digestif down Brendan's legs. She tried to make this up to him by lending him some hair but he was having none of it! More cards, no rain....I decided to go outside and soak up the evening atmosphere. Unfortunately I landed wrongly on a step and have broken my middle toe! It's swollen and reddish/black but "ain't nothin gonna break my stride, ain't nothin' gonna slow me down, uh ha, gotta keep on movin' "... As my work buddy Jacqui said in a FB post "just as well my feet aren't touching the ground". It's true when they say Sienna is different to other cities and towns - and I just love Sienna.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb