Day Trip to Siena


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
April 15th 2008
Published: April 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The Dome from the CamponileThe Dome from the CamponileThe Dome from the Camponile

If you look, you can see people looking over at the Camponile. I still think we had a better view.
Today was the day I had reservations for the Uffizi Gallery It was a madhouse with lines, people, groups, everyone pushing to get a better place in line. I was able to get in and saw the picture I most wanted to see The Birth of Venus. It was truly spectacular. As for the rest of the art, I enjoyed a lot of it, but didn't spend a lot of time there. It's not as if they had food pictures. lol

I headed over towards the train station, taking time to climb to the top of the Camponile. As I was approaching the second platform, the bells were ringing, loudly. It was great. I climbed all the way to the top just in time for the rain to start. Not sure what it is about rain and my climbing towers, but it often rains when I do this. The view was great from the top. Rather than climb the dome of the Duomo, it was recommended to climb this so that the view includes the dome. Pretty nifty. I took several pictures.

Once I was done with my cardio workout for the day, I headed to the station and
The Palazzo PubblicoThe Palazzo PubblicoThe Palazzo Pubblico

Siena's town hall since the 14th century. I didn't climb this tower, just too much rain and I had already done one a couple blocks away
caught a train to Siena. The train system here is just so awesome. I wish we had something similar to that. Cheap and seemingly reliable. At Siena, I bought bus tickets and found the right bus stop to get myself down to where I wanted to go. Had a lunch of crappy penne pasta with zucchini and a ton of grease. It had been microwaved and was pretty darn nasty, but I was hungry so I ate it. The table next to me had a nice looking salad Caprese, so I ordered one of those as well. That was pretty tasty. I walked down to the Duomo and toured the baptistry, crypt which was pretty amazing, the Duomo, the museum and of course did the climb to the observation tower called Facciatone. It was pouring down rain, so I didn't spend much time up there, but it was worth it. The stairs up to the top were spiral steps and so steep and narrow that is took quite a dance to pass someone coming the other direction. It was raining so hard that I decided to head back to the bus stop and come back to Florence. Had to do
Siena's DuomoSiena's DuomoSiena's Duomo

They are doing major work to this cathedral, but it still is impressive as can be.
some waiting, but everything worked out and I made it back easily enough.

Tomorrow I rent another car and drive up about 6 hours to Slovenia. Wish me luck on that.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

From top of the FacciatoneFrom top of the Facciatone
From top of the Facciatone

This tower was connected to the Duomo, but was never really completed according to the literature. Challenging climb, but great view.
Weatherbeaten BrendanWeatherbeaten Brendan
Weatherbeaten Brendan

Here is a picture also from the top of the Facciatone. The weather really was quite miserable here, but to be honest, as an Oregonian I was fine with it.
Great View from the TrainGreat View from the Train
Great View from the Train

The skies were so troubled as I headed back to Florence. I loved the dark and light in the picture.


15th April 2008

Love that Foodie card
The club recieved the salami, proscuitto, and bruschetta. The timing was great, we had forgotten how special you are, you been away so long. The beautiful card reminded all of us how special you are. We wish you luck on your drive. Barbara reports that the plants are doing well and brooke brought a new kitchen aid, RED to match her kitchen towels. We miss you!
17th April 2008

Lovet the pix
I am living the dream thru your pictures. Finally got this blog to let me add a comment. so what can I say .... have some more fun but come home soon! we all miss you terribly and can't wait for more photos and all the details. You look fabulous even in the rain and wind.

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb