Siena


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
October 12th 2005
Published: October 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So next is Siena. Initially we were not impressed since we couldnt figure out how to get to our hostel. We took the bus that the guide book recommended and the bus driver assured us that he would alert us once we got to our stop. At one point, the pope (ok maybe a lot of old men look like the pope) motioned for us to get off, but since our bus driver didnt make any motion to disembarck, we stayed on. Note: always trust the pope. Pretty soon, as in Venice, we were back exactly where we had started. The worst part is, the damn bus driver looked over at us and smiled. Jerks!

At any rate, we finally got to our hostel. Later, we headed into town and were almost in another parade. We werent quite sure why or what it was for (which is not unusual for us to be in the dark) but nonetheless, I personally made every attempt to join. However, instead we just went to a bar and became best friends with....yep you guessed it...Germans. I love Germans. I need to move to Germany. now.

At any rate, in true Tuscan tradition, I went to two sights, both €6 each, like everything is. Would you believe that even the food is €6. Every item on the menu is €6. what the heck is the obession with 6. at any rate...all good fun.

Today I made the trek over to San Gimignano, a Tuscan hill town, whose only purpose for me is to rent a scooter and run around the countryside. Despite my hotel room (which by the way was over 2x I have paid anywhere else) I was so excited for my ride. I walk outside of town and find that the place is closed. COULD I CRY MORE. WHAT THE HECK! So I buy a bottle of wine from a town I will never visit due to lack of Scooter and wander back to the tourist information office, which is closed...until 3. I would have loved to drink wine to drown my sorrows, but of course everyone is sold out of bottle openers. Can this get any worse? I was contemplating breaking the edge of the bottle on the side of the wall like I have seen my brothers friends do so many times, but ....I thought that might be a bit ghetto.

so INstead I am spending hours upon hours updating my blog. How sad am I.

Anyways, despite my sadness, I realize that I am not working, I am healthy and I am in FRICKIN EUROPE! i guess it could be worse. OOps i spoke too soon. As i sit here in the internet cafe, some old man just came in and is studying the art of a nudey calendar in great detail. how sick. hopefully he will not realize I am here.

I will try the scooter idea tomorrow. hopefully it works. love to all!

Advertisement



13th October 2005

poor amy!!! you have had the worst luck girl, i think that it might have something to do with kelly and i, huh?
13th October 2005

Love all the photos and updates! Sounds like you are having an amazing trip-its exhausting just reading about all the places you've been!

Tot: 0.28s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 71; dbt: 0.0551s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb