Valentine's Day in Siena


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Siena
February 14th 2006
Published: January 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, it's Valentine's Day, and not much is going on. I don't have a
date, but I could if I wanted to! Haha, The guys here, especially the
ones that go to bars like The Red Baron are all about the American
girls. I don't think I mentioned Lorenco before, but I met him on…
Friday night, I think. I got him to buy me a drink, but he made me
have it in the back of the club at a sort of secluded table. Luckily
friends came back to check on me, and eventually I was able to get
myself out of the situation. Not without a kiss though… :-P

Actually, it was as I was busy losing him in the crowd that I ran into
Ali, but that is a story for another time and another place. Soon
after that encounter I left the club with Becca and Krista and we
walked home. Despite the rather uncomfortable situation with Lorenco,
it was kinda fun. My Italian is so much better in bars! I mean, after
a drink or 2 I loosen up and I am able to speak faster and more
fluently, so it all has a purpose, I suppose. Anyway, I was saying as
much, and Krista said "You were probably speaking in all infinitives!"
but as she said it she spit, and sent the three of us into hysterics.
She snorted, and none of us could walk, we were doubled over.

Anyway, class yesterday was good, I really like Fiora (my prof) she is
very sweet and patient with our slightly broken Italian and our
difficulty with pronouns and the conjugation of verbs. It is so much
easier to speak to be understood rather than speak correctly! Oh well,
I think we are all making progress. I have to do a 15-20 minute oral
presentation on the history of Siena on tomorrow, wish me luck! I'm
not too nervous about it though.

Life at home is pretty good, though I feel like I spend almost no time
here. I am understanding more of what my host mom says and I'm less
nervous about talking. I suppose all comes in time.

I did not go on the planned Art tour of Siena on Saturday because
Richard (the program director) had some stomach bug (whatever Krista
had a couple days earlier), so I met Krista, Alex and Becca in the
Piazza del Campo to have a tour of our own. We actually didn't end up
doing that, we sat in the piazza for about 2 hours, shopped and went
to this amazing pizza place (recommended by my little guide book) that
had wonderful, fresh, cheap pizza, cold beer and the most beautiful
view I have seen yet. That is now "our" place, and we agreed not to
tell the others about it for a while (so if any of you know someone on
the trip that is not named Krista, Alex, Becca Hussey or Brody, keep
your mouth shut, eh? Va bene.) Oh, there are some pics of the view
included in this email.

What else what else… Oh, we definitely ran into some prejudice against
Americans the other day at the Tea Room. They didn't seat us, thought
they kept saying "Oh, you're next, you're next." It was crowded, but
they never gave us a table. We are going back though, just to show
them we aren't easily discouraged. Eh, I'm not too worried, though I
was PISSED yesterday.

It is such a beautiful town though. Oh, I will also include pictures
of some of the little kids! They were all in costumes this weekend,
I'm not sure why. They also had a lot of confetti and silly string,
though for what purpose other than throwing at pigeons, I don't know.
One little girl tried to give me bread (I think meant for the pigeons,
but I have no idea why).

We are off to Firenze (Florence) on Saturday. I am so excited, our
first excursion! We have to take an 8am bus though, which will be
LOVEly, I'm sure. I will be sure to take a ton of pictures, and I will
post some of the ones I've taken very soon (if they are not already
posted)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0849s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb