Yep, that tower sure does lean a bit


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
June 12th 2012
Published: June 12th 2012
Edit Blog Post

The bustle of Pisa is in the background of my current hostel, cars and horns and italians talking and occasionally a bird tweeting. My hostel is five minutes from the big square of miracles where you will find the Tower, the church and so on. The Tower is quite impressive, the architecture giving me goose bumps. Or maybe that was just the 50 vendors selling their same products within the square! I don't know if I will ever become accustomed to that sight.

Beyond the Tower though, there isnt really much. I had been given a bit of advice to not stop overnight, to leave my luggage at the train station and stop over for about three hours or so. However, with my hostel booked and my recent digestive disaster this week, I thought Pisa would be a good little layover before I go crazy running around in Rome.

One thing that I have noticed, which surprised me as much as it did in Paris, is the huge African expat population that is here. My train car was filled with africans, and me. What differences are to be found all over this country! I also met a phillipino woman who had come here for work, leaving her two children at home. Apparently though, finding work as a domesAisha's been quite difficult. I've collected some interesting stories, just by listening to what people have to share.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb