What starts out badly


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
June 25th 2006
Published: June 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Italian trains are quite easy to use. Before leaving home (London) I was able to book most of my rail tickets. Some I chose not to buy in advance cos I did not want to lock myself into a set time. Not knowing Italian geography has not been a big deal cos the website was in English and it told me everything I thought I needed to know. I wish it would have told me how to say, "Um, my train pulled in one minute after my connecting train left. What now?"

I started my journey at Venice Santa Lucia and took a random train across to the mainland station, Venice Mestre. I was early for my train so I had plenty of time to get to the platform. When my train left, I was on it--and in an air conditioned compartment to boot! I did not pay too much attention to the three other women in my compartment because I could only pick up a word here and there. But I understood one of the women better than the others--figured out that she was speaking espanol while the others were conversingwith her in italiano.

Journey passed without any
So SadSo SadSo Sad

This is the whole garden.
real incident--but we did randomly stop in a tunnel with no AC for about ten minutes. Still do not know why. BUT! this stop is what discombobulated the remainder of my trip to Pisa. I knew that if we made it to Firenze Rifaldi (Florence), I would be cutting it really close to make the connection. Nope. Didn't.

Ended up on the next train to Pisa Centrale ten minutes later, but this was a slower train, made more stops, and did not have AC. My "scheduled" train was supposed to get to Pisa around 9:35pm and I did not make it until about 10:10pm. Which is exactly the when the only and last bus departed toward my hotel. Sadly, I did not even find the correct bus stop until about 15 minutes and three random conversations later. Let's just leave it at this: my options were hugely reduced. I have no idea which direction my hotel is other than it is far away (11km), it is dark, and I can say four non-food related words in italiano: si, no, grazie, and scuzi.

I wander across the taxi rand and say "English" to the hodge-podge group assembled. One lady says yes, but very rudely, and I asked if she was headed toward Tirrenia. Of course not. Cannot even share a taxi. This is about 10:40pm. I do not get a taxi until 11:15pm. Apparently they just drive by if they feel like it--not an actual taxi rank with waiting taxis.

Now, not that I tour about in a lot of taxis, but this one was well posh. The ride to my hostel took about half an hour through stop and go traffic but I made it--with €30 less in my pocket. The hotel was a proper hotel with AC in the room and a nice, clean, modern bathroom. #1 and #2 on my list were turn on AC and take warm shower. Mission accomplished.

I slept the sleep of the dead. Partly because my room was as dark as a, well, tomb and partly because I was completely shattered. At my flat in London, my room only has mini-blinds and I am always awoken between 4:30 and 5:30am by the sun and then I make myself (not that it is difficult) go back to sleep. I did not have to do that at this hotel since it
BaptistryBaptistryBaptistry

This is the largest baptistry in Italy.
had these big exterior blinds all over the windows. Fabulous! I slept until almost 8, had breakfast, and headed out to wait on the intermittent Sunday bus. It came 25 minutes later (I have waited much longer for London buses so this was great) and off I went to explore Pisa.

Following my trusty Rough Guide map I walked through town with no problem--even helped two separate groups find their way! On my walk I passed one of the sadder excuses for a botanical garden and then all of a sudden, there is the Leaning Tower. For all the pictures I have seen, I still was not prepared for the degree of leaning. The other buildings in the piazza were also interesting but not the best I have seen. I took a quick free gander through the cathedral, bought some postcards, and was on my way.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



9th July 2006

i knew you would.......
you are pretty strong seeing as how you can hold up the entire leaning tower of pisa....i'm pretty proud!!!

Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb