Two trips to the Leaning Tower of Pisa


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
February 4th 2010
Published: February 25th 2010
Edit Blog Post

florence pics 058florence pics 058florence pics 058

half way up the tower
Pisa is known for one thing. When you hear someone say 'Pisa', you know they are more than likely talking about the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Other than the tower, what else is there? Well, I couldn't tell you. I, like all tourists went for the tower. I Came, I Saw, I Conquored! And, by conquored, I mean I took a picture that makes me look like I'm holding the tower up. Yes, that day, I was a tourist.

I went with my father after my class. We took the train there and we learned that you must always validate your train ticket before bording the station.We did not do this, and were forced to pay 20 euros in fines. We got off lucky though, she was going to make us pay 40 each initially.

When we got there, we didn't feel the need to buy a 6 euro map. so we went out side and looked at the main map and wrote down the streets we needed to be on to get to the Leaning Tower of Pisa. At first we were a little disoriented and confused because of the construction. But after a little compromises we found our way. The street to the tower is preety basic, going a little to the left at first and then keep on the same street and over a bridge. Eventually you will get there. Its about a 20-30 min walk, depending on how fast or slow your going.

We ate supper at a nearby cafe. I had some amazing soup that warmed me up. After, we left our bags in the locker room and went up the tower. At the top you can see alot, and you can really feel the lean in the building. While we were up there, the tower bells went off. That was really neat to be up there at the same time. You could see all the nuns and people coming to the church beside the tower to pray.

It was getting dark when we got to the bottom. So, we decided it would be best to head back to the station. When we got there, we, bought our tickets and validated them and then got on the train. As I sat down, I noticed that I didn't have my bag with me. It was still in the locker room! We had to go all the way back. By the time we got there, it was closed. I had to get a security gaurd to help me. He found my bag and took a photocopy of my ID, then we made our second trip back to the station. We got on the train just in time. It was around 11 by the time we reached Firenze.



Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

florence pics 063florence pics 063
florence pics 063

very narrow stair case. beware to tose who are claustrophobic
florence pics 075florence pics 075
florence pics 075

sunset on our second trip back


Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0276s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb