Sometimes I Think I'm Rick Steves...


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Pisa
October 7th 2008
Published: October 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Where I Saw the Tower that Leans


TrainTrainTrain

Here's me and my ticket on my first solo adventure!
The weekend of October 3-5, 2008 I went to Pisa on Friday and the Cinque Terre Friday afternoon through Sunday. This entry is going to be my Friday excursions because I just have too many pictures to put all in one...so, On Friday I left for Pisa at 7:30am... I wake up earlier to travel than I do for school: this is a sad realization. This train ride was not bad, but was very annoying because I had to transfer 3 times to get to Pisa. On the train I mostly slept and read, but that was about it, pretty uneventful. Once I landed in Pisa I went strait to the Duomo forum because that is what I went to see and honestly even the travel book don't really recommend anything else. Walking to the leaning tower was pretty neat because I was just walking along the street and then all of a suddent there was the Arno River. It looked just like a postcard with the river and colorful houses lining both sides. One thing I noticed about Pisa is that it is very calm; it wasn't noisy and the people were very nice, there were also many bike riders.
The ArnoThe ArnoThe Arno

The Arno River in Pisa
I didn't see many people until I reached the forum that held the leaning bell tower, the baptistry and the Basilica. I was a pretty amazing site! I walked around outside all the buildings for about 45 minutes, stopped in a bathroom that I had to pay for, bought some postcards, took lots of pictures and was then on my way back to the train station. Total I think I was in Pisa for about one and a half hours. Most people would ask if that was enough time...honestly if I had more money I probably would have entered the Basilica and climbed the tower, but I really didn't feel like I was missing out.

Once I reached the train station I bought my ticket to Riomaggiore, the southern most town of the Cinque Terre!


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

HousesHouses
Houses

This was just along the river.
LabelLabel
Label

I take a bunch of Pictures like this so I don't have to remember what everything is ;) This was for the small church
BaptistryBaptistry
Baptistry

Here is the Baptistry in the Duomo Forum
Il Duomo!Il Duomo!
Il Duomo!

This church was Huge! it was also really pretty from the outside!
What you've been waiting for! What you've been waiting for!
What you've been waiting for!

Here she is! The leaning Tower..although it doesn't look very leaning in this picture...
Leaning Bell TowerLeaning Bell Tower
Leaning Bell Tower

here is the tower with a cool statue.
The DuomoThe Duomo
The Duomo

itsn't it gorgeous?
Me and the Leaning TowerMe and the Leaning Tower
Me and the Leaning Tower

some nice people took this for me!
Now You can see the lean!Now You can see the lean!
Now You can see the lean!

IT is really pretty dramatic. They said it is leaning about 4 meters from level!


Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb