Waiting and waiting


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
August 6th 2006
Published: June 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

01 Dome01 Dome01 Dome

The dome of the cathedral from the Uffizi Gallery.
Geo: 43.6577, 11.4546

I did wake up early this morning and decided to keep sleeping instead of getting up. First place I wanted to see today was the Uffizi Gallery- the private collection of the Medici's. When I arrived there was a line, I joined it and spent two hours waiting!! So annoying. The other girls had warned me and told me to get there early or else I'll be waiting- 10am early to me! Finally got in and spent the next two hours admiring all the art work. The highlights of the gallery are the Botticelli paintings, The Birth of Venus and Spring. I enjoyed this gallery, there is just too much to see and so much is religious. Feel like I've seen the same thing over and over again, when each artist paintes their version of a religious scene.
Walked to the Basilica of San Lorenzo. This was the Medici's family church and most of the family are buried in their chapel. Donatello is also buried here among his many scupltures. Next I went to the Chiesa della SS Annunziata. This was beautiful inside, so much to look at, all carefully decorated with paintings and statues. One of the most impressive
02 Bridges02 Bridges02 Bridges

View of bridges from the Uffizi Gallery.
churches I've seen so far in Florence.
Went out for dinner tonight with Anna, a girl in my room from Brasil. Just for a change we had pizza, pasta and wine!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

03 Cathedral03 Cathedral
03 Cathedral

The cathedral.
04 Sculptures04 Sculptures
04 Sculptures

Beautiful sculptures in the Basilica of San Lorenzo.
05 Fakes05 Fakes
05 Fakes

Many fake handbags and sunglasses for sale- watch them run when the police come along!


Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0605s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb