Last Day in Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
July 17th 2014
Published: July 17th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Today was our last day in Florence. We went to the Uffizi Gallery. The Uffizi Gallery is where thousands of famous art works are by the great master painters and sculptres. I saw the famous painting by Boticelli called The Birth of Venus. We also went to Museo Galileo. Galileo was a great scientist who first said that the earth goes around the sun not the sun goes around the earth. Because in those days people used to think that the sun and all the other planets went around the Earth. He nearly got killed by the Catholic Church for saying this new idea. In the museum there are two of his fingers, his thumb and a tooth in a jar!


Additional photos below
Photos: 2, Displayed: 2


Advertisement



18th July 2014

Photos and Postcards
Hi Levi, We miss you and have recievied your two post cards. We are enjoying reading your blog everyday and find it really interesting. We are learning a lot about Europe. Matthew is settling in to 2KM and mentioned that he knew you were away. Have a lovely weekend. 2KM
18th July 2014

Love it
Dear Levi .... I have just seen your blog and caught up on all your stories! It has made me giggle and I wish I was seeing all the wonderful things you have! I am glad you held up the tower of Piza, I hope you found a gelato shop and yes some water is way to cold to swim in (I am glad your mum knows this). You look so small next to the David. I remember not paying to go into into that museum because I entered via a exit door by mistake ! It is chilly here. School has started and week 1 is over. Have you any funny stories of things you have done or learnt? Where have you liked the food the most.... Do you have a favourite cuisine? I think mine would be home made gelato yummmmmmmy! Say hi to mum and dad. Mary
19th July 2014

Hi from Levi
Dear Mary, Thanks for reading my blog. I have some funny stories. On the way to Cinque Terre, mum used her Italian to try and buy two pizzas but ended up with two train tickets to Pisa. Also we went to Pitti Palace which is the Cosimo Medici built for his wife. There were a lot of scary paintings of the Angel of Death. I couldn't sleep that night !!! One of the paintings looked like the Angel of Death was taking a selfie.....

Tot: 0.303s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb