Day 7 - Florence - 3rd day of Adv. Cardiomyopathy and then a train ride to Rome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
September 28th 2012
Published: September 29th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Rearranged my luggage this morning. There is still lots of room in my "big fat american luggage" but I don't expect to fill it up with treasures before departing. There are still 9 days left in my trip and many more meals, tours, pictures, and fun to be had during the stay in Roma!

I left my bags at the hotel and made it to the Advancements of Cardiomyopathy 2012 conference before they began. There were more genetic talks way over my head, but it seems the emphasis has to be on genetics. There are over 1,000 different gene mutations that cause Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy (HCM) alone. Each one seems to respond differently to various treatments, drugs and have varying disease expressions. I won't bore you with more medical jargon, but just know there is much more work and collaboration needed to find more answers to the never ending questions uncovered over the past 3 days.

At the coffee break, I spoke to the conference directors (Franco Cecchi & Ivaporo Ollivetti) and discussed briefly how the Anthony Bates Foundation could assist as we move forward. I also had the pleasure of speaking with Barry Maron, Paulo Spirito, Carolyn Ho, Jil Tardiff and friends from Egypt that I met 4 years prior. Many thanks to the event directors for bringing all the bright minds together to share their work and make it easy to network for the future works on Cardiomyopathy genetic make-up, findings, treatments and thearopies!

Lunch was full of picture ops and then I took my posters down and walked back to the hotel. My bags are ready for the termini, but I will need to wait for Ricco & Gia before we hail a cab and trec to Roma! I rearranged my luggage one more time. After about 2 hours of waiting, turns out, Ricco & Gia were outside the hotel waiting for me. Once we connected, we called for a cab and headed to the termini!

Arreviderci, Firenze!

Train ride to Roma was quick and easy. We made it to our Sheraton Roma Conference Center by taxi with no trouble. Joy de Francesca was awaiting us in the room and we went to the hotel restraurant for dinner. Time for another bottle of yummy Italian wine, laughter and plans for the next day exploration in Roma!

Let the vacation begin!


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Sharon & JilSharon & Jil
Sharon & Jil

Sharon Bates & Jil Tildale (Tucson, AZ)
Carolyn & SharonCarolyn & Sharon
Carolyn & Sharon

Dr. Carolyn Ho & Sharon Bates
Sarah & SharonSarah & Sharon
Sarah & Sharon

Sarah (Eqypt) and Sharon Bates
Cecchi, Bates SalbergCecchi, Bates Salberg
Cecchi, Bates Salberg

Photo Op with Dr. Franco Cecchi, Sharon Bates & Lisa Salberg
Crowd & Dr. OllivcottoCrowd & Dr. Ollivcotto
Crowd & Dr. Ollivcotto

crowd & Dr Ivocopo Ollivotto
Sharon & FrancoSharon & Franco
Sharon & Franco

Sharon Bates & Dr. Franco Cecchi by the Anthony Bates Foundation research posters


Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb