Day 8 - Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
August 26th 2012
Published: August 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I knew leaving Positano was a bad idea. I wanted to cry as we stood for the last time on our beautiful hotel terrace. The ride back down the mountain was depressing and just when we thought the train would be our favorite mode of transportation, disaster struck.

We all knew navigating our way through the Naples train station would not be pleasant but the people there are soooooo frustrating. It was worse than the beach in Barcelona. Every two seconds we were being harassed for money by people both selling items or just straight out demanding it. When we finally found out platform we were confused where to get on the train. A little old man we thought was working at the station showed us where to get on and helped Avery and Emily carry their belongings onto the train after they repeatedly told him no. I got completely ignored but yet, as soon as he found out I was with them he insisted that all of us had to tip him 10 euros each. Then he tried to kiss us on the hand! I'm so angry! Never again. I think Positano made us too trusting. I wouldn't have even minded tipping him but he didn't do anything for me.
Then, just as we were leaving the station Avery lost her memory card. I was just about to upload all of her pictures from Positano so that we could look at them together on the ride but it flew out of her camera into the seat. We completely missed seeing Rome through the windows because we spent the entire three hours on the train searching everywhere for it. I don't understand where it could have disappeared to. We looked literally everywhere.
Anyway, that has put a little damper on the trip. At least we are only half way through and we can make up for all of the lost pictures. Emily and I still have a lot but Avery's were by far the best. I'm just happy I managed to steal some of hers from Barcelona.
When we got to the train station our itnerary told us to take a 15 min cab ride to the hotel. It turns out the hotel is two blocks from the station. We definitely could have walked it. At least this hotel is nice and we have another terrace like patio. The hotel also has a jacuzzi where we spent most of the evening.
Tomorrow is another tour day so there will be more pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb