I love Florence!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
August 29th 2010
Published: August 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Florence Italy is one of my favorite places I've been up to date. The first time I visited the city was actually my first time visiting Europe. I was 19 years old, and signed up for Italian courses at the Instituto Michaelangelo. The program was 4 weeks and I rented a studio apartment right off Via Ghibelina by myself. I arrived at the airport and was received by the program coordinator who handed me my apartment keys and set me off in a taxi. I had barely been there a few minutes but as I looked out my window at the European streets as we drove past the Duomo I knew I was already in love with the city.

I didn't want to waste a minute and I couldn't wait for my morning class to meet people, I decided to walk around and explore immediately. Of course i got lost and a few hours (under the rain) later, I managed to find my way back home. Yes! I managed to get lost in Florence... I can't imagine how lost I'd get in Rome.

The following three weeks flew by so fast. My Italian improved and the city felt like home. Every morning I'd walk to my regular cafe at the corner of Via Ghibelina and Verdi. Cafe Michaelangelo had the best cappucino's I had ever tasted. Next to it a pizzeria, i think BocaNero... amazing pizza but the best desert ever!!! Nutella & Mascarpone Calzone!!! yummm!!!


Next to my school a spanish bar called Salamanca became my hangout every night of the week along with a few girls I met in class. The staff at Salamanca really showed us a good time!

The Santa Croce is one of my favorite buildings and I often went to sit on it's steps to write or just hang out with my new friends. Close by there was a bar called Moyo and a Kareoke bar called the Red Garter. Both bars became part of our routine as we'd hop from one to the other every night.

Of course I visited the Ufizi museum, the breathtaking Duomo (although i didn't climb the stairs to the top) and shopped through all the boutiques within the tiny streets. I will also have to mention the most beautiful view of the city from the Michaelangelo mountain, which i climbed following the sounds of familiar music and stood through a Muse concert by myself.. one of the most beautiful and remembered nights of my life.

Not to mention the Gelato!! Vivoli near Santa Croce a very popular one and for good reason! If you're in the area ask someone to direct you!

And of course during the hot days of July we needed a beach! A 45 minute train ride to Viareggio was all it took to get there! Beautiful boardwalk on a long stretch of beach!

Florence is amazing! a year later, I organized a backpacking trip through Europe and upon revisiting this city every single person I had met remembered me and welcomed me back. Including the guy who made my cappucino's and the man at the corner store I'd pass on my way to school, to the owners and staff of the favorite bars.

In 2007 i fell in love with Florence and I thought I hadn't seen enough of Europe to consider it my favorite but today after having backpacked through many parts of europe i can still say Florence is my top, and I'll go back any chance I get!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0248s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb