Florence: Reading to get in the mood


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 19th 2009
Published: June 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I woke up this morning after dreaming about Lorenzo de’ Medici. He would be invited to my private dinner of my version of history’s most intriguing figures if the dinner were ever possible. It must have been interesting to have lived in Florence at the height of his reign during the Italian Renaissance, yet terrifying as the Florentines fell under the power of Savonarola after Il Magnifico’s death. My interest in these figures continues to heighten as a devour books that conjure up vivid images of great time in history.

Soon I will be strolling through the streets of Florence, hoping to catch a glimpse of the ghosts that surely must still haunt the shadows of this glorious city. Perhaps I’ll stand at the place in the Duomo under Brunelleschi’s dome where Giuliano de’ Medici was murdered by members of the Pazzi family. Around the corner from our hotel is the Piazza della Signoria, where Savonarola finally met his maker. I’m hoping to hear the walls talk in the few rooms that are open to the public in the Palazzo Medici.

The 11 days until we’re “wheels up” seem like forever. So, I’ll pass the time reading the tall stack of books by my bedside that transport me to Italy in my mind. Here are a few I’ve recently read. Please let me know if you have any to recommend.

A few good reads:


Signora daVinci by Robin Maxwell is historical fiction of Leonardo daVinci’s mother, Caterina.

April Blood by Lauro Martines tells of the Pazzi Conspiracy to kill Lorenzo and Giuliano Medici.

That Fine Italian Hand by Paul Hoffmann describes the quirkiness of the Italians that others have come to love and enjoy.

Michelin’s ITALY Tourist and Motoring Atlas is ideal for anyone hitting the road. Yes, I read maps. Love them!

Italy Discovery Journal by P.L. Byrne is a travel guide for kids ages 6-16. It suggests places and activities and then allows room for children to write about interesting facts, details about the destination, and what they did where.

Florence by AAA is a “spiral guide” offering the basics for traveling in Florence as well as suggests walking tours around the city. Great maps, pictures, routes and details.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.273s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0573s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb