There are no trucks in Italy


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
June 1st 2009
Published: June 1st 2009
Edit Blog Post

I apologize in advance for the lack of punctuation ... Seriously, the keyboards here are ridiculous.
Just arrived in Florence an hour ago and am waiting to check into my hostel... Havent done any exploring yet.

Yesterday I attempted to get to the colosseum but couldnt find my way in because the TOUR DE FRANCE was going on all the way around it ? It was ridiculous... I saw crowds of people taking pictures of someone and thought.... Ooooh maybe theres someone famous over there ! Nope... Just bikers. I eventually got tired and hailed a cab to drive me back to the hostel... Except most of the streets were closed so I ended up paying like 20 Euros, blahh. Oh well, my feet were thankful. I went for dinner with Heather from Cleveland and ate bruschetta and some spicy penne... Delicious.

Tomorrow there is a food market tour and on Wednesday, a wine tour. I booked two nights so that may work perfectly depending on when the tour ends on Wednesday. I should probably book another night just in case. My ipod wont connect to the wireless here so I have to pay to use the internet, which is ridiculously slow and these keyboards.... So annoying. I am thinking I will head to Siena next, for a night, and maybe a day trip to Lucca or Volterra. I am having fun kind of taking things day by day and being random.

Ive also completely surprised myself at how well Ive been able to navigate my ways through the city. Id be hopeless without a map, but with one I can manage... I havent gotten lost once ! (Okay thats a lie, I did kind of get lost in St Peters when I couldnt find the exit and the place was PACKED.)

Anyway... I am going to walk down and sight see near the Duomo and get checked in.
Ciao (Had to say it)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0351s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb