Weekend


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
April 10th 2009
Published: April 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Didn't post yesterday for not much happened. We had class at 9 with Eric in the Piazza next to the Uffizzi for he wanted us to draw in a busy area. It was hard for me for like I've been saying, I don't have the artist eye. I'm pretty crafty but when it comes to straight lines or depth and proportions, it aint' my thang.
About an hour into sketching a little boy walked up to me to see what I was TRYING to draw. I looked up and said hi to him and he responded back with... "Are you from England?". I didn't really know what to say and I think my face showed it for before I could spit out an answer he shot off to find some friends. Ha.
After class I headed home and studied for a couple hours. I got really stressed for Eric gave us a lot of homework and it's Easter weekend here so I want to get as much done before I'm out and busy. Anyways, I headed to the CAPA center at 3:45 for language and ended up raising my hand at the beginning of class to tell our language teacher that I just didn't get it. Plural, feminine or masculine... just doesn't click with me. She ended up taking the whole class period to re-explain that stuff and now I finally get it! And so does everyone else in my class because I guess a lot of other people didn't get it either, ha.
I got home and the girls and I decided we'd go out for Thursday nights seem to be the night to do something here. We headed to Joshua's Tree to meet Mary and Krosbie and ended up being invited over to another CAPA students apartment. They were friends of Mary's and they had met through the program, however the two girls who lived in the apartment were from Australia and Paris. They've been living here for quite a while so they speak pretty fluent Italian.
When we got to the apartment Brittni and I both immediately smelled food. We ran into the kitchen to find this wonderful Italian woman with freshly cut onions, grated cheese, peppers, mushrooms, dough, all laid out. She was an Italian woman making homemade Italian Pizzas. I cannot even begin to tell you how incredible it was. Most of the people at the apartment were actually Italian, but Brittni and I stayed in the kitchen and ate a piece of each kind of pizza she made instead of socializing. It was incredible. Thennnn it got interesting.
After having scarfed down 2-3 pieces of incredible homemade Italian pizza I asked where the restroom was. I won't go into details but all I will say is that the bathroom flooded. It was NOT me for when the girls that lived in the apartment found out the bathroom had flooded they said that someone had told them the toilet was having problems. I guess I just had to be the one to push the handle down and have water come flooding into the hall. I managed to run out of the bathroom dry but I grabbed Brittni and Alyssa and told them we had to leave. So we left.
Got home a bit late but ended up skying Joe. Was SO good to see and hear him, for it gets lonely not having anyone around that I'm close to.
Today is Gregs birthday so tonight were taking him out and making him a cake. Should be pretty exciting however we have no baking pans here so Brittni and I are going to head out and see what we can find.
Love and miss you all, I'll be updating soon enough with more photos and Easter fun.
Ciao for now,
H

Advertisement



Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0772s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb