Wednesday


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
April 8th 2009
Published: April 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

It's mid Wednesday here and I can't believe I'm not taking a nap or passed out on the floor.
I stayed up pretty late last night. Around 10:30 Brittni and Greg walked with me over to Matt's apartment to get my backpack for I'd left it there and I got home around 11, making it into bed around 11:30 after I journeled (sp? word?) for a while. We had to wake up REALLY early this morning and meet Eric at San Marco Monastery by 8:30. We got there on time and ended up walking around for a couple hours looking at the different rooms for there is fresco in each room where the monks would stay or sleep. I haven't read the bible nor am I very religious but it was incredible to follow the storyline of the crucifixion.
After that Greg took me to go get a cell phone! Yayyyy Haley has cell phone! If any of you want the number you can email me, it's free if you call me but obviously not free for YOU to call me. I can talk however long when people call me for I'm not charged anything. After getting the cell phone I came home and booked a flight from May 21-24 for Hannover, Germany. I'll be staying with Anna and I'm SO excited to see her. She was once an exchange student that lived with my family and I for a year and I haven't seen her for almost 8 years. She's almost finished with school (Doctor!) and will start her internship this summer.
Greg and I went for a nice run along the Arno for it is a beautiful day here. I showered then headed to the market with Ali and Matt. Once again we stopped to talk to some of the fake dealers and Matt and Ali were both looking for some sunglasses and watches. While talking to them one guy asked us where we were from. Here's how the conversation:
"Where you from?"
-America...
"Where in America?"
-Westcoast, Washington?
"Washington State?"
-Yes
"Seattle?"
-Uhm Yes....
"Forest Park?"
-WHAT?
After he said Forest Park he pulled out a drivers license from Washington. Turns out he went to school in Tacoma for two years and is now in Firenze selling bags and watches. We also asked a bunch of the sellers what happens when they get caught and where they were from. Most of them are from Senegal and if the police catch them they are jailed for 24 hours and then are released back onto the streets. It was just really interesting talking to them for their all really nice guys just trying to make a living, but they have to find places to sleep at night and try and make the money. On good days they sell 4-5 bags, other days they'll sell none.
We hung out and talked to them for a while and now I'm home, showered and clean. We're gonna head to a little cafe/bar in a bit from happy hour. For 4 Euro's you get unlimited food and one drink and I've never been so there's a small group of us going to check it out. Will blog later or tomorrow, love and miss you all tons.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.086s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb