12 hours in Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 31st 2005
Published: January 31st 2005
Edit Blog Post

Piazza Signore at sunsetPiazza Signore at sunsetPiazza Signore at sunset

This building just leaps out of a dark street.
Firenze, for all the Italians out there, is a great city. I am here just for the day, I will leave for Pisa just after midnight and then catch a night train to Nice, France around 3am. BTW they won't let me have a bed so I will have to sleep sitting up, argh!!

I wandered around the city, sat in a piaza for lunch enjoying the warmth of the sun. I had brought snow with me from Austria to Munich and on to Rome, so it was nice to be somewhere a little warm.

I climbed to the top of the Duomo, 463 steps, but worth it. You can see the whole city from there and the snow covered mountains to the east look inviting. there were lots of little windows that offered previews of what was to come once you reached the top.

I just love how all the european cities have tiny streets that a car can barely fit down, if you are walking on the street you have to dive into a doorway to let them pass. All the streets are curving and seemingly without a plan.

Evening is amazing as the sun
Florence through a Duomo windowFlorence through a Duomo windowFlorence through a Duomo window

Here is one of the previews I mentioned.
only highlights a few buildings.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Florence and the mountains beyondFlorence and the mountains beyond
Florence and the mountains beyond

This view was hard to leave. It was also hard to face all 463 steps going back down.
Rowers at duskRowers at dusk
Rowers at dusk

This is for my buddy Franky, I thought of him when I saw these rowers heading for the tower upstream.
Front of DuomoFront of Duomo
Front of Duomo

This building is being restored, it will be spetacular when they finish. I loved the angle of the 2 windows and the tower.


Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0514s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb