Yay Italia!!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
November 27th 2008
Published: November 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Again, time just seems to fly by in the travels.
It seems it's been a while since letting you know where i'm at.

The last entry I was in Targus Mures, a nice, but random town in Transylvania. The hostel was kind of iffy, strange people living in that building, and I was the only one there, heck, probably the only tourist in the town, as people seemed to frequently remind me. After my night in there, I jumped on a minibus hoping to get up to Praid and see the salt mine which everyone seems to talk to. Much to my surprise it was well below zero and blowing snow in the morning, which only got worse as the minibus maneuverred up the mountain road to Sovata (the base town to get to Praid from). Once we arrived in Sovata, it was fairly evident and shortly confirmed that there would be no transport to Praid due to the increasing snowfall (by that point a foot of snow had accummulated). Oh well, there's only one thing to do in that situation and that is to find the nearest bar and relax.
It was only 10 am and there were several people in the bar already well on the way to intoxication (guess they had the same idea as me) One fellow ended up taking me back to his home where his sister in law who spoke english could translate a conversation for us. Fun times.
I caught the next bus to Sighisoara (the birthplace of Van Dracul, who we know as Dracula). This town was beautiful in every regard, had a medieval center which had little changed since the middle ages, and so much history for such a small place it was hard to absorb, also harder to absorb with the mandatory partying the hostel there induced. As usual though, it was up early for a trip to the next destination of Brasov. Well known for the Bran castle and Risnov citadel, unfortunately it was Monday and Bran was closed, but i did trek to Risnov for a visit. (definitely not worth the trip unless there is no snow and you have a car to get up there). From Brasov, i had to endure a 8.5 hour train ride which turned out to be a 12.5 hour train ride to Constanta for the night to get my plane to Italy the next morning.
Constanta was hell!!!! 12 hours of hell!!! F****** hell!!! I'm not going to get into what happenned, don't want the parrents to get worried, but rest assured I made it through with no loss except some sore feat and a bad sleep (but I think the others involved realized they messed with the wrong tourist).
Once in the terminal past the security check, I was so relaxed and happy to be going somewhere decently warm. Hoping the rest of the journey could help me forget Constanta. I did my usual stunt of waiting for everyone else to get on the plane and pick their seat before I venture on, guarantees that I can pick the seat beside the pretty girl (no one ever wants those seats for some strange reason) the flight was going great, having a good conversation and learning the basics of italian until halfway through a message came on the speaker 'We are having a medical emergency and are looking for any doctors or nurses on board' ugh, I turned around hoping to see someone else stand up, but nada.... So I got up and went to attend to the f****** 26A19 22 F that was 'SOB and U/C' (right).
Ended up staying with her the rest of the flight and attempted to give a report to the paramedics when we landed through a translater, but I don't think it worked.
But now, Florece is beautiful, beautiful, beautiful (with a brief stop at the leaning tower in Pisa) It's off to Siena tomorrow then I think maybe a night train to the south.
Take Care and miss you all.

Steve

Advertisement



Tot: 0.102s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb