Life in Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
September 13th 2008
Published: September 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Lantern Festival 15 secs
I apologize in advance for the order of the photos. I can't figure out how to manually place them where I want them in my blog. I wanted to show you my apartment because it is awesome. I was expecting a little dorm room with a kitchenette, but I got so much more. I'll have to wait to get pictures of our front door and stairs because it's cloudy and rainy, so there isn't enough light. In our living/dining area we have a 17th century staircase that was restored when the apartments were remodeled. They have it behind glass with little skylights. It's very pretty.
Last week one of my roomates, Azzurra, and I went to the Festival of Lights. It started in front of the Santa Croce church. Parents bring their children along and light up candles inside of paper lanterns. A band leads everyone through the city into another piazza. When everyone arrives at the final stop the children take out their pea shooter (it looked like they were shooting clay) and try to take out everyone else's lantern. It was a lot of fun to watch, although I did get hit a couple of times 😊 When everyone is finished there are stands around where you can buy fresh candy. I got this awesome nougat and there were these chips that tasted like anis seed with the texture of a fortune cookie.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Many lanternsMany lanterns
Many lanterns

Yes that is a Spiderman lantern on the far left
Stage OneStage One
Stage One

Use pea shooters to take out the lantern.....or someone's face.
Stage TwoStage Two
Stage Two

watch lantern burn
Stage ThreeStage Three
Stage Three

Gorge self on lots and lots of candy


Tot: 0.213s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb