Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 24th 2008
Published: May 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Broke my glsses today. Or should I say, they broke-- just picked 'em up this morning and the left arm or whatever fell off. Good ol' Scotch tape-- haven't had to do this for a while :D

This is the best hostel ever by the way- a basement dance floor and bar, rooftop bar and restaurant, 15 machines with free internet (or at least free if you aren't computertarded), and showers in the room. If you're ever in florence, hit up the "Plus Florence" hostel.

And yeah, European McDonalds has curly fries. Yeah that's right. Potate Vertigo.

So I didn't wake up until noon today, so I decided instead of hitting up Pisa today I would wander Florence. Glad I did, as it's probably the best wandering town I've ever been in outside maybe San diego and Montreal. Started the day in the museum that has Michelangelo's original David, which is huge and has huge hands and a huge head (which I never noticed before seeing it in prerson). Again with the chorus of "no pho to", but I took a few anyways 😊 Line outside was fun, as the group of obviously trined singers did some street choir-ing for us, and I signed my blog name on the wall along with about a thousand other people (and yes, I did .com instead of .org. Stupid me 😞 ).

I then hit up the Duomo, which is in a nice circular square (if that makes sense) that had a bunch fo street artists of much higher-than-average quality sitting around. I bought a painting of the Aruzzo/Siena area from one of them (gonna have to see that place) and volunteered for a demo caricature with another (whih is now my facebook phot of the day :D ). The church itself was nice, although a bit run-down on the exterior, and the inside was nice albeit not as overwhelming as St. Peter's Bascilica of course.

After that I just randomly wandered, which is great in this town and ended me at some very well-hidden but very nice free choir concert for an hour or so. Then I hit the square in front of the Uffizi museum (which was closed by then) and the riverfront, which had a nice mix of stores and artwork. Dinner was at a place that seemed really upscale until you got the bill (only 32 euro for me) and included a bottle of red house wine, a smoked goose breast salad, beef pepper stew, and a berry cake dessert (my second real sit-down meal of the trip including the one at Meteora).

Tomorrow I'll probably try to hit up Pisa, and if possible extend my stay here a day to let me hit Arruzo. It's also looking like i'll cut out Milan (due to a bunch of advice to that effect) and replace is with the Cinque Terre if possible.


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.173s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1311s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb