Florence day 2


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
May 25th 2008
Published: May 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So today was good, albeit a bit slow. Started the day in a small museum with a bunch of supposedly working reproductions of Leonardo's machines. I say supposedly because most of them said "do no touch" on the side :/

Then a tire blew out in a car RIGHT next to me when I was walking down the street. The car's alarm went off (kind of funny in retrospect). I jumped, but for some reason didn't really freak out. no heart rate boost or anything. Maybe being i a foreign place makes you ready for these kinds of things. Or maybe I was just out of it. I dunno. Everyone looked at me like I did it, and I just kept walking after the 3 second "wtf just happened" bit.

Spent as long waiting in line for the Uffizi museum as I did inside (about 2 hours). Guess I'm a bit museumed out. seeing the Birth of Venus was nice, though-- even took some pictures even with the chorus of no pho to around me.

Then just a walk up the hill just outside town with the Plaza of Michelangelo on top. Was a pleasant walk, with some gardens on the way up that I took a nap in for a couple hours. The view from the top was awesome of course. Then a bus ride back to the hostel so I can figure out where I'm staying tomorrow after I see Pisa.

Just a lazy day. Bew warned that I may not have internet access again until I get to Venice, if you've been waiting with bated breath for my posts (right). I can try though.


Additional photos below
Photos: 35, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0609s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb