Friends, family, and the most amazing place ever


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
April 9th 2008
Published: April 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Photo 1Photo 1Photo 1

hand sculpture outside of the Como train station
It has been a while, almost 2 weeks, since my last blog update and a lot has happened since then. I have actually had to do some homework, which was unusual for this semester and a little hard to get into. But the fun stuff is better to talk about, so 2 weekends ago, I stayed in Florence, and had a visit from Jordan, a friend from home studying in Venice for the semester. We had a great time catching up and going out. I was also really nice to see a familiar face, he being the first person from home to visit me this semester!! It was a very interesting night to say the least, and he left the next day to continue his spring break. The week flew by and all of a sudden it was the weekend again! This past weekend most of my roommates and I took a train to Como and Milan for a quick overnight trip. We had the best weather possible when we arrived Saturday morning in Como and I immediately fell in love with the tiny town. We started the day with the necessary cafe latte and lunch outside right on the lake. There I had one of the best lasagnas I've eaten so far, which is saying something if you all knew how much lasagna we eat. The girls and I relaxed for a while over lunch and then took a boat out on to the lake for a tour. The guide/captain spoke only Italian so we ignored him, annoyed the other passengers and took as many pictures as our cameras could hold. I have never in my life seen as many beautiful villas in one place as on the mountains of Lake Como. George Clooney might have started the trend in Hollywood, but the homes tucked in the huge hills are ancient and unbelievably gorgeous. The day was so clear we could see straight to the Alps in the distance. I think the boat ride was my favorite part, and far too short...I could have ridden on that boat forever. After the boat ride, we found a funicular that took us up in the hills and had a great view. Once up in the hill, we decided to climb up just a little bit further. What we thought was going to be a quick skip to a few villas, turned into a sweaty, almost vertical climb to the top. Once we started going, why stop, right? When we finally reached the top, we were rewarded with a small public garden with hidden trails, and a rotund church which we remembered seeing from the boat on the lake as the highest point on the hill. We had reached the absolute top!! After staying up there for a while and surveying the sights, we made out way down the mountain, which mysteriously took about half the time it did to hike up. The rest of the day we got our selves ready and went out to dinner and dessert and vino for one last lake view. The next morning we took a train to Milan and shopped around, ate and wandered. We were only in Milan for a few hours, and I think it was probably enough for us. There is a lot to do there because it is a huge city, but we needed to get home. I liked Milan OK, but Lake Como was definitely one of my favorite places in Italy. It was amazingly beautiful and I would recommend anyone come to Como and stay as long as you can.
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

first glimpse of Lake Como
Last weekend was great, and it should continue because Erin, my roommate from CofC and my Aunt and Uncle are coming to stay tomorrow! I am so excited to see them, though it's strange that all of my visitors are coming at the same time. We will see what happens and what we get in to.


Additional photos below
Photos: 41, Displayed: 24


Advertisement

Photo 9Photo 9
Photo 9

on the boat tour


18th April 2008

Lake Como
Hey Mor-Mor!!! I am sooo glad you got to see Lake Como......It was my favorite place too!!! I would love to go back and spend more time there. I am counting the days till you come home!! I know you have had lot of fun but you need to be home for all the excitement going on here. It is going to be crazy the next eight months!! Have some pasta and vino for me and we will see you soon!!! LOTS OF LOVE, AUNT DEBBIE:)

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0415s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb