Firenze


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
March 15th 2008
Published: March 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DuomoDuomoDuomo

Change of weather, finally some sun
Sorry I haven't updated in a while...oops its been almost a month. ANYWAY, Italy has been absolutely amazing obviously. Since I last updated, I have gotten myself a boyfriend named Lorenzo... who is actually my 17 year old (ALMOST 18 i SWEAR) host cousin that lives in the house upstairs. We havent really told the family yet because his older sister Sara is getting married at the end of the month and it might be a better idea to...keep these things to ourselves for now. lHe speaks...very little english so when we hang out our conversations are mostly in Italian. Luckily though, he speaks just enough to help me when I can't think of a word. But hes really nice, really attentive, and ill post a couple pictures of him in this entry.

Anyway, back to the real reason I'm posting, I was in Florence for the past 4 days with my class (Firenze in Italiano). We visited so many amazing places I feel incredibly "culturally/historically enlightened?" The train to Florence, which is in the Tuscan region of Italy, from Parma took about 2 hours... Wasnt soo bad. We got settled in our hotel and then it was off for
the Duomothe Duomothe Duomo

Gorgeous shot of the front of the Duomo. Architechture was only finished in the 1800s.
the day's tour with our instructors. Just to add, our instructors speak english but they give us our lectures in English AND Italian. Its truly surprising how much I am able to understand. Italian has almost become second nature to me.

Of the places we visited we saw: The famous duomo (santa maria del fiore), the baptistry, Palazzo Vecchio, Ponte Vecchio, Piazzale Michelangelo, la Academia (where DAVID is), and much much more.. I'll post pictures because thats obviously more interesting than hearing me rant.

The food in Florence was...actually kind of disappointing. All of my friends were raving about how great it was but honestly I have had better food here in Parma. Because Italian regions are each known for their specific cuisine, you might find it interesting to know that the typical bread from Tuscany is made without salt....I have no idea why but in my opinion it is pretty disgusting... The WINE however was another story. No where else in the world can you feel completely confident when ordering a restaurant's house chianti. The wine was leggero (light) and secco (dry) which made for a very nice flavor. Don't get me wrong the food still met
LorenzoLorenzoLorenzo

Yes...his hair is very long.. but here he is!
Italian food standards, just in comparison to the other experiences I've had, I was not completely blown away.

Lets see...what else...The weather is warming up, thank god. There are still random days where it is cold and dreary but the sunny weather is starting to make a come back. Again sorry I haven't updated but here are enough pictures to tide you over until next time.

Baci & Abbracci (Kisses and Hugs)
Michelle


Additional photos below
Photos: 37, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Lorenzo with my host brothersLorenzo with my host brothers
Lorenzo with my host brothers

Here is lorenzo (middle) with my host brothers Giacomo (left) and Giorgio (right). What a gorgeous family
Last oneLast one
Last one

Here is is (pink shirt). I think this one might be a bit older tho because he looks a lot younger in this picture.
Inside the BaptistryInside the Baptistry
Inside the Baptistry

Theyre big fans of Jesus. This whole roof is done in Medieval style mosaics
WE WANT YOU!WE WANT YOU!
WE WANT YOU!

This reminds me of a nightmare I once had... Just an idea of how the Catholic church has been so successfully powerful here in italy. This was on the facade of the Duomo.
Ponte VecchioPonte Vecchio
Ponte Vecchio

Here is Ponte Vecchio, the famous bridge in Florence that crosses the Arno River. This bridge is lined with jewlery shops
Cuppola (sp?) of the DuomoCuppola (sp?) of the Duomo
Cuppola (sp?) of the Duomo

Here is the underside of the big dome in the famous Duomo. It was absolutely amazing.
View from the TopView from the Top
View from the Top

After waiting 45 minutes in line behind about 3023409234 asian tourists, we finally were able to climb the 463 steps to the top of the Duomo. Completely worth it
yay!yay!
yay!

Were so happy to have finally gotten to the top! Both feeling the burn in our legs
Campanile TowerCampanile Tower
Campanile Tower

Here I am with the Campanile Tower behind me.. partially designed by Giotto, finished by Brunelleschi
Tourist ShotTourist Shot
Tourist Shot

Again posing with the Campanile Tower... you can never get enough photos... Thanks for hammering that idea into my head mom.
David!David!
David!

I wasn't technically allowed to take this picture, but how can you just see one of the most amazing free-standing sculptures of the Renaissance without snapping a photo. I was very....inconspicuous
Piazza San LorenzoPiazza San Lorenzo
Piazza San Lorenzo

Here we are standing outside the church made especially for the Medici family. This family dominated florence for about 100 years.
Lauren, Nikki, and ILauren, Nikki, and I
Lauren, Nikki, and I

Look how cute we are in our sun glasses
Nikki and INikki and I
Nikki and I

ahhh what a long day!


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0491s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb