Beautiful Day for a stroll


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
March 11th 2008
Published: March 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hey there! Today was very wonderful for me. I woke up and went to the Academia, which is the museum that holds Michaelangelo's David. It is soooo beautiful. Of course the museum does not have much else so that was a disappointment. But worth it. Then I came back to the hostel to try and look for where the English Cemetery is in town, where Elizabeth Barrett Browning is buried and I ended up meeting a guy here on business for Nasa, who wanted to go with me so he accompanied me to the cemetery. It was really cool to see the grave of one of my favorite poets. I went to her and Robert's house yesterday, the Casa Guidi. That was even cooler because I felt so awsome standing in the spot where they stood back in the eighteen hundreds. It was so inspiring. So anyway, after that we strolled in the middle of a thunderstorm all the way across town to the Boboli Gardens (the garden that the wife of Medici had built and decorated with many sculptures). I knew that if we waited long enough, the rain would stop and the sun would come out, which it did perfectly at the exact time we arrived. We even stopped in at a gelateria for gelato. I had caffe gelato which was sooooooo amazing.

So the garden is amazing. Alot of rolling hills and statues. When you climb to the top of the garden you are looking at the Forte Belvedere and to the left is a little tower. Once you climb up the steps it opens up to ta terrace garden overlooking the Florence countryside. There was a castle in the distance on a hill and then Tuscan villas below that. It was amazing especially at the time we were there because it was dusk and the light was very picturesque on the horizon. One strange thing I noticed was how many cats we saw walking around. Atleast 10 in the short time we were there. Very weird. My favorite thing though was at the end of the garden is a little statue of a little fat man on top of a giant tortise. Totally cool and random. There are also periodically throughout really big bath tubs. I finally got in one and had Ben take my picture. It was empty so I didn't take a real bath or anything, but it was fun. So now we are regrouping at the hostel until dinner. I found out there is no such thing as Chicken Florentine in Florence. That is totally an American Italian dish. I was so bummed. But maybe I will try something new. I didn't make it to Sienna today but the guy at the hostel reeption, Leonardo, who is very very sweet, told me it is beautiful so I am going to go there tomorrow for my last day. I guess that is all for now. I will write again tomorrow or when I am in Rome.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



11th March 2008

The sun will come out.....
Simply gorgeous. I went on line and looked at pictures of Cinque Terre. Your jaw must have dropped when you were there. It's absolutely breathtaking. I'm sure it's awesome in person though. Sounds like a pretty fun day strolling around. Try some Tira Misu for me. Love Ya!
12th March 2008

So you met a a guy in Florence, on business with NASA, and you spend the day sightseeing? Dude, that sounds like the opening of a great spy movie, or a brain versus beauty romantic comedy! Just kidding!
13th March 2008

strangers in the night
Chica! I'm gonna have to go with John on this one ... I want to hear all about this man and the others you meet ... I love stories :) Sounds like you're having an AMAZING time! You are experiencing things that most people NEVER get to experience so take it all in! Can't wait to hear more ... love you Lynds!
15th March 2008

it's been 3 days
ok ? Have you left for Athens? Hope you are alive and well. Miss you terribly............Love, MOM

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb