Firenze etc


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
February 13th 2008
Published: February 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

n10119191 37520093 2772n10119191 37520093 2772n10119191 37520093 2772

me and mwongola at our apt.
I realized looking over the few blogs I have written that I haven't really ever talked about Firenze and what there is here. So in honor of those thoughts, here is a typical day/ a few fun things I have gotten into lately...

On Mondays and Wednesdays I get to sleep in because I only have one class at 12:45. That means maybe get up around 10 and get out the door by 11ish to use the internet at school. Tuesday and Thursday I pretty much have class all day long, with a 2 hour break from around 9-4:30. Class and then maybe a walk around the city. The weather here was really icky and cold for a good part of January, and now that it's finally clearing up, I try to take advantage any chance I get. Our street is really busy because it has lots of shops and pasteccerias and cute bars etc so it's really nice to walk around across the Arno where things are a little quieter. People also walk in the streets and completely ignore cars and all the crazy motorini, which at times is really scary and very dangerous. Around 5ish, I usually go to the little market on our street for whatever ingredients we need for dinner, and make my way home for aperitivo (sort of like appetizers and drinks before dinner). Dinner gets going around 8 and we usually don't eat until about 9 or 9:30. Lots of great food, family and wine later, we either get ready to go out for the night, or bed. We have also recently gotten into watching crazy italian game shows, though they sometimes are hard to follow and the contestants end up doing ridiculous things.

One of my favorite places so far is this amazing space on the other side of the river called Piazzale Michelangelo. It is an area wound far into the hills a little outside the wall of the city and has a church and a little garden and the best view of the city I have found so far. My friends and I took a picnic up a few days ago and watched the sunset over the wall and a beautiful villa on the hill. Long story short, I also watched the sun rise from the same place, but over the city instead. It was like a pink haze that
n668688082 652130 8967n668688082 652130 8967n668688082 652130 8967

all of the roomates
slowly spread over the dark city and woke everyone up. We watched the Firenze come alive and it was one of the greatest things I've seen yet.

The Florentine people are an entity unto themselves. They are stylish, a little cold, bold and totally crazy. To be a woman in Firenze, you have to dress to the 9s just to get a gallon of milk, steel faced so as not to attract calls from men, directed on your destination so as not to be stopped by gypsies all the while balancing on 4 inch heels through uneven stone streets. More on the men another time...but I will say that they are fairly typical... Italian and kind of creepy. I would love to have a whole day just to people watch because everyone here is fascinating!

My roommate Molly and I are planning a fun day on Friday of all the things we have wanted to do so far in Firenze but haven't had the time, such as riding the carousel in the Piazza de Republica near our school, and sketch the Ponte Vecchio at sunset and start the day off with authentic bellini (Proseco here is ridiculously cheap!).
n7607023 32286562 7856n7607023 32286562 7856n7607023 32286562 7856

lisa, kaylee and I
Then Saturday Molly's friends are going to be visiting and we are going to a wine tasting somewhere in the Chianti region for a relaxing meal and day. There are so many things we want to do while we are here and it is going to be a challenge to get everything in! The time is flying by and already we are starting to look towards the end, the sad day when we will have to say goodbye, though we are trying to look towards all the fun times before we have to go.

My apologies for the random order and thoughts on this entry. I guess Firenze just has that effect. One more quick note: I think I am turning into a big snob de vino e formaggio. Be prepared!






Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Photo 5Photo 5
Photo 5

piazzale michelangelo
Photo 10Photo 10
Photo 10

our mostly eaten picnic was the talk of the piazza
Photo 12Photo 12
Photo 12

lauren and ellen
Photo 13Photo 13
Photo 13

sunset


16th February 2008

Thanks for sharing your trip!
Dear Morgan! Your mother shared your website address with me and I've had a wonderful "trip" reading all about your travels. I can't imagine being your age and having the opportunity to visit so many beautiful places, see so many priceless works of art and architecture, and EAT such fabulous food!! I can tell from your entries that you are having the "time of your life"!! (Your mom and I were thrilled to be able to go to Charleston for a weekend!!) You are a great communicator - your entries just make your experiences come alive! Great photos too! Thanks for sharing your trip with all of us at home! Enjoy the rest of your stay - be safe - eat, drink and be merry! Much love, Kathy Jo
28th February 2008

Morgan-looks like you are still having a blast! How are the classes going? Are you learning anything? haha. Piazzale Michelangelo that is the garden place that I was telling you about! I loved it! If I lived in Florence I would spend a lot of time there! In April I am sure you will be ready to come back and visit us here in the states but eager to make your way back to Florence! Enjoy it while it last, but it doesn’t’ look like you are having a hard time doing that! Haha.

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb