A day of travel


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
February 7th 2008
Published: February 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I spent a day in transit goin from Florence to Genova/Genoa. It was four hours to Monteresso one of the five towns in the Cinque Terre area, then another two hours from there to Genoa Brignole. After that it was another 30minutes by bus to the hostel. All in all I was worn out by the time i got to the hostel.

Monteresso was beautiful. Unfortunately, I had been given the wrong information and so when i turned up there was nowhere to store my heavy pack and all the shops were closed! But all that ended up not being a problem as i spent the time there either standig with my feet in the chilly water or just lying in the sun reading or dozing. it was a perfect few hours. unfortunately it was starting to get late and i like to get to my hostels before it gets dark. things are always harder to find in the dark...funny that! so back on the train again. catching the bus was easy although you od have to buy tickets before boarding the bus. i wonder what people do if the need to cach a bus from the middle of nowhere and have no ticket! Anyway, i met a nice old Italian gentleman who could speak very good English that he had learned in the war. he told me which stop to get off at and pointed me in the right direction. A nice change to some of the rude men i have encountered on my travels through Italy, it was worse than in France!

I will post photos soon i hope. i know there are a few days missing but nternet cafes can be expensive and if they are not they usually are not compatable with my camera! how frustrating!

Thanks for the comments as well! I have taken your advice on board mom and will do a day trip to verona while i am in Milan, that leaves only a day and a bit in Milan. And Trish, the Terre de Siena is the area to checkout i think. It encompasses San Gimignano and also Siena. I was told that Siena was a place not to miss but unfortunately i missed it haha- but anyway, check that area out.

Looking forward to seeing you all soon... it will be very soon!

Until next time...

Advertisement



9th February 2008

two weeks to go
Hi Danni, You must be feeling a bit Italianed-out at this point. I will make sure not to prepare an Italian meal when you get home :)! I have not been to Milan or Verona so can't truly be of good advice on the best places to visit so hope you end up making the best choice of where to spend your time. Sorry to hear you are not well, hard to enjoy carrying a heavy pack and walking around if you are sporting a cold. Hope you are over it now and feeling better. Love M:)M

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0495s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb