My Legs Hurt!


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 17th 2007
Published: January 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I walk. EVERYWHERE. (Graham, you'd be proud)
It's a 15 minute walk to class from my apartment. Who am I kidding? It's a 15 minute walk to anywhere from my apartment.
Classes are pretty intense, for better or worse; probably better considering grad school is in the near future. Coming from a big, newer, city, it's a bit hard for me to accept that most of the things that I'm seeing art-wise are original Da Vinci's, etc. Unfortunately, for some reason I'm still a bit skeptical about the works I'm seeing, especially things like frescos and ummm the David. Hopefully I'll get over that before I leave.

I'm excited to start traveling. I head out to Leeds via Liverpool in two days. I've seen the train station AND the airport in Rome (jealous, much?), and that's about it, so perhaps that will be next weekend's trip. There's so much to do outside of Florence that it's a little irking knowing that I have to be here 4 days out of the week. Unfortunately, most of my "classmates" are from state schools and non-art schools, so you can usually find them at the local club that rips English-speaking tourists/students off for very little to quench that apple-tini thirst they all seem to have. Fortunately for me, and those cronies who are thus non-existant (sans Mr. Patrello), I found a nice little Irish pub, owned by a Scot, 2 blocks away from my Italian apartment. Joy. PLUS, there's American football every Sunday, so I'll be able to watch my beloved Bears choke their way to the big SB. Woot.

The internet on my laptop isn't quite working yet, but hopefully I'll have it up today, thus having images of all the goodies I'm seeing. I don't have many pictures of people, (un)fortunately, so don't get your hopes up girls. Besides, the image of the Italian man in your head is FAR superior to anything I've seen here. /sigh

Until later...

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0341s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb