The Flying Dutchman (as not seen in Spongebob)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 17th 2019
Published: January 17th 2019
Edit Blog Post

So let's just say that a night at the opera just might have spoiled me a bit. I absolutely loved it! Coming from a theatre and music background, just seeing the art come into play was just wonderful to watch. The pit and conductor were magnificent and played spectacularly. I honestly believe that my mouth was open for most of the interlude when the pit was introducing the musical themes to the audience. And I could feel myself smiling whenever they played a piece just right with the staccato notes followed by instant silence at the very beginning of the opera. But let's take it back a few steps and talk about the afternoon leading up to a wonderful performance.

Our group had just returned from our visit to the Leather School, which was also just amazing, and while some started painting nails or working on homework, I took a much needed nap. Naps are amazing and the one I took was one of those lazy, calm afternoon naps on the couch. When I woke up, I started the process of getting ready which included: picking which dress to wear, deciding on the necklace that pairs well, hair, and make up. I had talked with my roommates before and asked if they would help me with my makeup and they blew it out of the water by also helping me choose which dress and necklace paired well together, as well as offering me a straightener for my hair. We had a wonderful afternoon of just getting ready altogether and then going out to dinner at Gusto Leo's. After dinner, we took a taxi to the opera because, between you and me, I was not walking all the way there in heels and a dress and chance ruining my ensemble before the show even started. We arrived at the opera and were amazed at the beauty of the outside, we paid for the taxi and, when one girl accidentally closed the door a bit too hard, the driver rolled down the window and said "stupide americanas" and sped off. We hurriedly ran off to join the others inside to await the show. Everyone seemed to get a bit anxious as time went on and we still did not have our tickets from will call, but we made it in right as the pit began the opening lines!

So now that we are all caught up, I would just like to reiterate how beautiful and wonderful the pit and conductor did throughout the whole show. Unfortunately, for many of us in attendance, the Flying Dutchman was not a green ghost pirate who lives in Bikini Bottom and makes appearances on Spongebob. But, thankfully, I had read the plot and summary prior to leaving the apartment (right after my nap actually) so I knew the logistics of what to expect. And I was very surprised to note that the theatre had both Italian and English translations shown on the header of the stage, but seeing as the opera was performed in the native language the author wrote it, it is understandable that they would have both translations since the opera was in german. After the shock of seeing both translations, I focused more on the story of the Flying Dutchman and how the plot, blocking and costuming by the director worked to convey the status of people of that time period. The plot of the Flying Dutchman entailed the Flying Dutchman (FD) resurfacing every seven years trying to break the curse set upon him of immortality. In order for him to break the curse, FD needs to have someone love him faithfully until death, and only then will he be able to finally rest in peace. He comes across this ship and captain who were taking refuge from the storm in a bay on their voyage home and FD joins them in the bay. He talks with the captain and shows him the riches on board the ship and talks about how he has no family or home to gift them to. The captain gets to thinking about the riches and how he has a daughter and the audience views this internal struggle he has on whether or not he should sell his daughter to this very rich, wealthy man he just met. He decides at the end of the first act to promise his daughter to this rich man. Act two has the audience view the opera from the daughter's point of view and she has been in love with the legend of the Flying Dutchman for a long while. But the problem is, currently he is just a legend and she has someone who has promised her to ask for her hand in marriage already. FD and the daughter meet and she instantly falls in love. And I am not going to spoil the ending, so I am not going to even get into the third act.

The opera was an amazing experience and I would gladly go again.

Step count since January 3rd: 220,594 steps (~15,757 steps a day)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0647s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb