10 days in Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 14th 2019
Published: January 14th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Hello again! Here's to another blog writing about how I am still in awe of the fact that I am studying for three weeks in Florence, Italy. I truly believe that it is never going to feel real. Not now, not in 2 weeks when we leave and not in 30 years when I am telling my children about this awesome opportunity to explore the world and learn more about another culture and what it has to offer. So I apologize if what I write about regarding what I have learned about myself is only surface level right now, as I still need to process and reflect on what this trip has truly taught me about myself.

I know that so far one of the most mind-blowing things for me has been listening and trying to learn the Italian language. This has been the first time that I have been out of the country and truly experienced another culture before. I have grown so comfortable in the last 20 years in my American bubble, not being pushed to step outside my comfort zone or to explore what other cultures have to offer and the unique values and traditions that make them so beautiful. I believe that the best way to learn the language is to jump head first into the culture and immerse my self with true Italian speaking people. I have learned that I am not the best at speaking the language, nor to be completely honest do I understand half of what the amazing Giusy is trying to teach me. But, I am trying my best to use short phrases at restaurants, super- markets and in the shopping stores hoping that will help.

It didn't take long for me to figure out this next insightful piece about myself, in fact in took all of 24- hours of being in Florence. I feel very passionately about pizza and gelato being the only source of food I need in my life. Forever. I am really going to miss passing 30 different gelato and pizza shops every time I walk to school. Or walk anywhere for that matter. Regarding food, specifically pizza and gelato, I have learned (the hard way) that I am not a master chef. Im actually no where close, I actually burned a frozen pizza last night. But, attending the two cooking classes have been some of my most favorite memories while on this trip. Don't assume that because I had such a good time, that it means I was really good at making the pasta or pizza. No, in fact I messed my pizza up so bad that the chef re-did it from scratch for me and just let me decorate it with the sauce and cheese. So, as much as I would love to have a career making pizza, I'm going to have to stick to my family studies degree and pray I make it through school.

On a more serious note, I have learned that I do get home-sick, and that is okay. Although I have never been this far away from my family before, I have been gone from them for long periods of time on mission trips. During those times I remember missing home but not in the way that I have felt since being in Italy. Although I would not trade this experience for anything nor do I regret on any level the decision to come here, I selfishly miss the comfort and routine of being back in ole' Richmond, Kentucky. I am really glad that I am being pushed outside my comfort zone and being challenged in the ways that this trip has challenged me, as I know that growth only comes from uncomfortable and pushing situations.

Last, but most certainly not least, something I have learned about myself in the 10 days being in Florence is that I cherish my friends. Coming on this trip, Shianne and I were already best friends going on three years. This trip has definitely grown our friendship and has brought us to a different level that I didn't even know was possible (so shoutout to my homegirl). But while being here I have made two new friendships that I could no longer imagine my life without. Since the first day in Florence we have stuck to each other like glue and it has made this trip every bit of amazing for me. I am forever grateful for to be able to experience these three weeks with this awesome group of people and for the laughs and memories I have made with my sweet friends this far!

Ciao!!

Madison

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0285s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb