Art, Children and Fashion


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 11th 2019
Published: January 11th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Buongiorno everyone! These past couple days have been a whirlwind of rich information about this beautiful city, which by the way I still can't believe I'm living here for two more weeks. I seriously don't think that i'm ever going to get over it. I would be lying if I said that I remembered every detail and every story behind the beautiful paintings and amazing sculptures that we have looked at this past week. But, I have enjoyed getting to explore the beautiful museums that are full of so much rich history. Its crazy for me to think that not even a couple hours could begin to scratch the surface of uncovering the stories that are embedded in the walls and streets around me.

Since arriving in Florence, I have been exposed to so many different types of art. Musicians playing in the street, sculptures, street art, paintings and even the buildings around me. It is not hard to miss the mass amount of art that lies everywhere in Firenze. If you know anything about Florence, you may know that the Uffizi is one of the most well known art galleries. After our tour there on Wednesday, I understand why. It doesn't take a history buff or an art enthusiast to be in awe of the beautiful pieces of work that are displayed within those walls. Personally, I am not someone who typically finds art history to be that interesting, but having the opportunity to go through the museum with Antonio (who you can tell is in LOVE with that place and rightfully so) was such a unique experience! If I would have gone through that museum on my own time, I probably would have been in and out within an hour, mindlessly looking at the pretty colors and trying to figure out how this is relevant to me. Having Antonio along to explain in detail a couple of major pieces of work, changed the game. I no longer was trying to think about what I liked about the pieces or how in 2019 this is still relevant but instead how in the 1400's these were major parts of there lives. Art was their way of making a statement, whether it was political, religious or one of status. One of my favorite pieces of work that Antonio told us about was "Spring" by Botticelli. Upon first looking at this painting, I didn't understand what it was trying to say. I was confused by all the people in the painting and how they were all doing something so different. I remember initially thinking about how I really liked the colors and that the dress covered in flowers was beautiful. Other than that, at first I was not really impressed. But, after hearing the story behind this painting and what each person represents and how it tells one story, I fell in love. I loved that the young man on the far left of the painting, was mercury and that his job was to push the clouds away. As the clouds represent anything that stands between us and the sun (which represents truth). The three women dancing in a circle represent grace, beauty and chastity. I thought it was interesting that they had all been struck by cupids arrow and become pregnant. My favorite part of this painting was the right side. The women who is naked and has a terrified expression as she is being captured by the wind. But as soon as she is captured she becomes clothed in beautiful flowers and begins to thrive. I think this part of the painting speaks to me on a larger scale, that sometimes we are so scared to do things but those are the things that allow us to flourish and thrive.

When I found out that we would be going to the Innocenti museum, I was very excited. I found it so interesting that this was the first orphanage of the western world. My favorite part of this museum was the display cases full of old artifacts that were left with the babies when the parents would drop them off. This place seemed to do so much for children and caring for them. I cant help but thank about the thousands of children that would have not had a chance at surviving would it not have been for this place to welcome them in and to take care of them. I was very impressed with the system that they had in allowing parents to leave their children and when it came to the wet nurses that would care for the children. I did not think that they would have been as serious in that time to have a contract. I thought it was neat that we were able to see the different paintings that were created for this place but I would be interested to know more about what kinds of things went on with the children and about the functioning of the orphanage with so many children.

I still can't believe that I had the privilege to attend a fashion show in Florence, Italy! The first Pitti fashion event that we attended was much different than the second. Each having their own unique experience. The first one we attended was a lot more laid back and more of a social gathering. I thought that this event was really cool and I loved the way that it was laid out to where at first, I wasn't sure who the models and what was being displayed was. The second event was different than anything I have ever experienced before. Entering into the fashion show I was immediately overwhelmed by the loud music and many people. We may have almost ended up on the runway as I made eye contact with the first model coming straight for me. As the fashion show was starting we got pushed to a back corner and unfortunately were unable to see any of the show. As I know that it is no one's fault, the overall experience was far different than I expected it to be. I enjoyed the overall mood of the fashion show with the flashlights and the music and I thought it was cool that the aisle was the runway! Overall, it was a really cool experience to have been able to attend a fashion show in Italy and I am super grateful for the opportunity.

Ciao,

Madison

Monday: 17,090

Tuesday: 17,631

Wednesday: 19,378

Thursday: 16,156

Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0201s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb