Food of Firenze


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 14th 2018
Published: January 15th 2018
Edit Blog Post

The big thing that I want to mention for this post is that Italian food is definitely not American food. A lot of their stuff is very light and airy while ours is usually heavy and thick. I like both for both of those reasons but I like the food I was raised on a whole lot better. Usually for breakfast back in Kentucky I will generally have a breakfast of oatmeal with fresh fruit and like ten cups of coffee or I will fix the more traditional southern breakfast of eggs, bacon, hash browns, toast, and orange juice. However, here in Italy the breakfasts are very dainty. Here the breakfast usually consists of a teeny tiny cup of coffee, about the size of a thimble, and a pastry that might have some type of fruit spread on it. I know that since being here I have had to wait until I get out of classes for the day before I get breakfast, or brunch, because I am almost always running late. I think that I might be spoiled to the size of American coffee because I like a lot of coffee in one cup. The strength of the coffee here does not bother me like it does some people but I still enjoy it.

For lunch I will usually get a pizza or a panino. I find it very odd that they sell us an entire pizza rather than just a slice because I'm so used to it being sold by the slice back home. I still think of the panino here as being just a sandwich but if you ask for a sandwich you will most definitely not get a panino. Something else that I have noticed is that the Italians do not eat pizza for lunch. They tend to reserve that for a dinner type dish but I do not know why. I cannot really find much difference in the types of foods Americans eat for lunch verses what the Italians eat for lunch other that they sit down for their lunches. However, they sit down for the majority of their meals whereas we tend to eat things on the go. I also find it odd that a pop costs the same as water here. I hadn't had a pop for a little over three years, but since it was the same price to get one here I figured I would try them again.

For dinner I generally stick to a plain pasta dish because I am so afraid that there is going to be a mushroom in something that I eat. I accidently ate something that was made in a mushroom sauce, and while it was delicious, it messed me up for a few days to where I could not really eat anything else. I am allergic to mushrooms and because not all dishes that have mushroom in it say Funghi, I am just sticking to what I know. I like the way that we are not rushed to eat here even if the diner is getting busier. If we were in America we would be rushed to eat to be able to get other customers in the place. However, at the same time we sometimes get too much time and are just sitting around waiting for someone to bring us our check. I like to be the one to prepare our dinner at home so that might be my problem with dinner.

My favorite thing that I have experienced so far is all the different desserts. I have tried the tiramisu and gelato and I know that we have them back at home but there is no way that it could compare to what is here. I generally am not a sweet person but here I figured I could branch out because a lot of the stuff that is here will not be back at home. I can not wait to see what the rest of the trip hold in store for us.



My total steps for Friday were 14,830, Saturday total steps were 27,112, and Sunday total steps were 13,275.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0332s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb