Florence, Italy Assignment #5


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 14th 2018
Published: January 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Assignment #5

Food and drink in Italy



One of the things I noticed was the small food speciality shops that had everything from deserts to sandwiches. The small sandwich shops have sandwiches that were already made up and on display, but the sandwiches were not wrap in plastic. The bread is sourdough, flat and hard. You can also order a sandwich made fresh but the bread is still hard. Since the shops are small and do not have a place to sit, you have to eat your sandwich out on the curb or in the street. This reminds me of Mt. Sterling Court Days where there are small food vendor trucks and no place to set, so you walk around eating. I have one of the famous sandwich shops on my street, All' antico Vinaio, there is always a long line.



They also have outdoor restaurants with heater so you can set in the plazas to eat and stay warm. I know of one restaurant (I am sure there are more but this one of our favorites) in Lexington that is like here in Italy, Shakespeare & Company, that my daughter, Lauren and I enjoy spend time together.



I have been going to the grocery store that is across from the school to buy food to take back to the apartment. The packages are small and just right for one, I wished we had more stores like this at home. There is also a market that has fresh fruits, vegetables, meat and sea food. They also have small packages of herbs and spices that is every convenient. I am not wasting food here like I do at home, I buy want is needed for a day or two, not for a week that goes bad before get to eat it. I like going to the small shops better than the big supermarkets.



I have noticed that the size proposition for food is smaller than at home. There is just enough that you are full but not stuffed and no leftovers. I eat way to much at home.



The city of Siena is similar to Florence, with the small shops and outdoor cafes but it reminds me of San Francisco with the hills and slope walk ways instead of stairs. I had a sandwich that olives baked into the dough with thin slices of ham that was heated. It was delicious.



Wine is an important part of the meal here in Italy. We spent half a day at the Antinori Winery touring their new wine facilities. They are bending the past with future, there is museum with the Antinori family coat of arms, there is one well that has the Antinori family tree. The winery dates back to 1835, that is 6 centuries and 26 generations in the wine industry. After the tour we had a wine tasting, I did not like the two red wines, but I really like the white wine, I tried to get a picture of the bottle so I could get it at home, but it had to much light from the window.



I already would like to make some life changes when I return home. I would like to walk more (if I can walk over 15,000 here I can do it at home). I would also like to learn to cook Italian food. I have noticed that I have not had stomach problems, it maybe the smaller proportions, but I also like the taste.



Steps:



1-12-18. 14,911

1-13-18. 21,454 wow! That is the best ever

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0369s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb