Flourishing in Florence


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Tuscany » Florence
January 7th 2018
Published: January 7th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Coming into a warm welcome from Antonio and Michael and our ever so kind driver (who showed us around and called us princessesl) as we arrived in Florence was very encouraging after my five long flights with heavy turbulence and no sleep. I was ready to get cleaned up and settle into my very Interesting apartment with three new friends that I had really never met before. I am So glad that they paired me with another "very mature non-traditional" student whom I became instant friends with at the Cincinnati airport. The other two are much much younger and are very sweet. I was worried that I would not fit in as well as I am and that is encouraging since one of these precious young ladies informed me today that they thought I was only around thirty one years old. This is our first blog since we began out adventure of discovering this "new to us" place and one of the sweet girls said, just now as we are typing away, this is just like being in a dorm room. This made me smile and laugh as I have never experienced this before. I am always on a computer at school or in my office by my self at home.

I mentioned earlier about our intrresting appartment. It consists of four bedrooms, two of which we are allowed to occupy and two that are reserved for "emergency purposes", a two nice newly renovated bathrooms, a very long hallway, a very tiny kitchenette, and no living space. Did I say no living space? Sí! The apartment is missing a living room and couches! On the other hand, I love the old Tuscany design that is probably the original from when it was built. Brick til flooring covers the floor and the plaster painted walls. The space seems huge with around twelve foot ceilings that are rounded in between the beams. I was worried that my body that is tainted with rheumatoid arthritis would not handle being in my very new, very soft, very big bed at home. However, I am finding that my very small hard bed provides its purpose well after all of the steps that have been taken through out the day.

After settling I. And getting a few hours of sleep the first day, we headed to the Pisa Republica. This was while it was getting a little darker and i had no idea of the beauty and excitement that my eyes woud behold. It is a festival time in Italy and the whole town is beautiffully strung with Christmas lights and Christmas trees. I always hate when its time to put all of the christmas awaym i live christmas! The cellebration also included a carousel. The cold crispness in the air and the lights had me looking up so much that I did not pay attention to any of the ways we were walking. Have I me tinned that I am a kid at heart? No? Well I'm guessing you are figuring that out about now. Then it was on to our welcoming dinner. Oh, my, goodness! Scrumptious does not even touch the meaning of all of the food. Did I mention the desserts? Us old ladies were running around gathering up the leftovers like a couple of baggers, but there was no way we were letting them go in the trash. After the excitement and too glasses of wine, my buddy and I were lost in the city foe over an hour laughing and trying to find our appartment. Let's just say that the next day in the daytime, I tried to pay more attention to the landmarks.

The second day in Firenza was a day to rest. We ventured out to see where the market and grocery stores were along with places to exchange currency. Then it was time for the epiphany parade. The whole light and celebration of this weekend was the celebration of the ending of Christmas. It began with the three Wiseman bringing their gifts of gold, freinkinscent, and mihr to the baby Jesus. Following in the parade were the representations of the heirarchy of the Catholic church and their families and status those in a kingdom. It included the leaders, children, jedtures, soldiers on horses, trumpets, drummers, and flags and banners representing each of the family crests. The costumes were amazing! Women wore beautiful adorned velvet dresses and hair dressings and men wore a variety of costumes down to the boots and shoes. After the excitement of the parade Joanna and I grabbed an sandwich and headed back to the appartment for a long awaited nap. We ended the night with most of the students hanging out with Madeline at the apritivo. This was a place where you ordered a Fri k and received a unlimited buffet. We filled a back room and had a lot of fun and relaxing. I had a a very tasty non alcoholic drink that was called the orangatango. If love to make that! Super duper mouth watering I do say, and I'd like to have one of those quite often. We topped the night off with a stop at the gelato shop that is right down from the appartment. I chose mint and chocolate. Oh, I am supposed to be losing weight with all of this walking, but I will probably see that place many time while I am here.

This morning we woke up late. It was another free day , but we're going to meet to go and see some more places and visit the Leaning Tower of Pisa. Not that thrilling, but I think that I would have wondered what it was like of I hadn't gone , so I'm glad I did. We had a wonderful lunch there looking at it as we are and I did buy my daughter some gifts. We ran into an obstical she trying to get on the train home. We ended up missing the first train and had to wait over an hour for another. It's okay with me, because I am a very patient person and as we waited, I believe that the girls bonded more and got to k ow each other better. I w as able to get more acquainted with teachers that I have not had been a either, so it was still a great learning experience.

I have learned more about the culture here I Italy already. I dont think that I view them as rude lkke6i had been told and experienced from an exchange student. They are a very busy and straight forward people that love at a very fast pace. However, they are a very beautiful people that I am finding have a huge respect for their culture and products. It amazes me how well preserved the building are everywhere. I am quickly seeing that they are a people with much to offer the world.
My steps have increased enormously to 52,785 totaled for Fri. Sat. And Sunday. Yeah me!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.082s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb