Italy/Sicily (October, 1999) PART 5 (Agrigento/Valley of the Temples)


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sicily » Agrigento
May 7th 2014
Published: May 7th 2014
Edit Blog Post

So during our stay with Martina and O'Nofrio, we took a little day trip one day to Agrigento, who's landmark is infamous for its larger than life, sandy colored rustic looking columns scattered throughout a plateau overlooking the ocean. Agrigento was about 20 - 30 minutes away from their house, located on the southern coast of Sicily.

I remember it being VERY hot this day!! When we got there, there was an indoor area type of museum which we walked around for a bit. In this museum, there was a large sand colored figure, the same color as the ruins, hoisted up on the wall, covering the entire height of the wall from ceiling to floor. It was ginormous! The museum was 2 or 3 floors, and the figure was the height of all the floors combined!

After this museum, I remember there being a little souvenir stand outside the museum on the walk up to the ruins. I remember buying some things there, maybe some souvenir vases and stuff.

When we finally did get to the ruins, it was breathtaking! The largest ruin I remember was the Greek Temple of Concordia. When we saw it, the 3rd column from the right had been covered in scaffolding as it appeared they were in the midst of some sort of restoration process. I am not sure if they were trying to restore things, or just preserve them. We took many pics by this one!

Another one we took some photos in front of was The Velvet Rocket Temple, or The Temple of Juno, which sat on Capitoline Hill overlooking the Roman Forum. There was also much scaffolding on this temple as well, on the side which all of the columns are connected at the top from one column going across the top of all of them. We took many photos in a tree by the ruins, which had really cool looking roots, and little crevices throughout, which little salamanders would dart in and out of, playing peekaboo. There were large rock formations with holes in them, which were used by christians as catacombs. One rock in particular sat up fairly high and served as a lookout point. The view from there was gorgeous!!

My favorite photo that was taken of me here at the ruins, was the one of me standing underneath the Temple of Gemini (Tempio dei Dioscuri).

This was my favorite photo taken here, because the same exact photo was taken of my mom, by my father when they came to this very spot on their trip to Sicily in the 1970s, before I was even a twinkle in their eye. Now here I was taking the very same picture, very same pose, watching history repeat itself. It's still one of my favorite photos from my Sicily trip.

That is most of the stuff I remember from this trip here... I'd love to go back and explore again, and see how much it has changed since the late 90s. I hope they are able to preserve these beautiful ancient ruins!!

You can view more info on the ruins here!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Me in front of Temple of GeminiMe in front of Temple of Gemini
Me in front of Temple of Gemini

This is my imitation photo of my mom's photo from the 1970s


Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0459s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb