Tempio Pausania


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Sardinia
March 10th 2006
Published: March 13th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Spent 3 nights in Tempio Pausania at the Pausania Inn. The photos didn't come out the best as it was often quite overcast. But I did get a good one of my close friend Mr Horse.


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

View of townView of town
View of town

This is from halfway up a mountain from on top of some granite looking back down on Tempio.
Nuraghe MaioriNuraghe Maiori
Nuraghe Maiori

Apparently there are a lot of these things all over the island and this is quite a large one. According to Lonely Planet you could go inside but it is fenced up now.
Fonte RinaggiuFonte Rinaggiu
Fonte Rinaggiu

You can sort of see the fountain on the right. Two hoses coming out of a wall really. People come from miles to collect the water. I drank some and am hoping to have eternal youth now.
Mr CowMr Cow
Mr Cow

Mr Cow was quite shy and didn't want his photo taken and is trying to blend in with the tree.
Mr SheepMr Sheep
Mr Sheep

I got a little worried here as I just realised I was in the paddock with the sheep, which is probably frowned upon. Big boulders of granite as well.
Pausania InnPausania Inn
Pausania Inn

My room is the one on the right without the shutter down.
CountrysideCountryside
Countryside

This is one of many roads/driveways I walked down and one of many vineyards(?). It is nice and peaceful and you can hear the bells clanging from round my friends necks.
Countryside take 2Countryside take 2
Countryside take 2

This is when I didn't want to go back down the driveway so am following a path. I went straight ahead from this photo, so path may be a slight exagerration.
Countryside plus graniteCountryside plus granite
Countryside plus granite

Still me on my 'path'. The granite justs sprouts from everywhere.
Cork treeCork tree
Cork tree

The cork has been stripped from the middle of the trunk where it is dark. But you can see some cross-sectioned at the bottom and it is still completely on at the top. (Still on my path).
EscapeEscape
Escape

This is the fence I had to climb over when my path ended in some poor mans back yard. I climbed over on the right between the pillar and the lamppost.
Granite mountainsGranite mountains
Granite mountains

All the jagged mountains on the horizon are made from granite.
Granite mountains take twoGranite mountains take two
Granite mountains take two

This is a better view of the mountains and one of the better driveways I walked down. I was convinced it was a road for a while but the paving didn't last long. I met Mr Horse not far from here.
Mr Horse take twoMr Horse take two
Mr Horse take two

Just because I can.
Another view of townAnother view of town
Another view of town

Slightly further up the mountain for this one.


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0449s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb