July 14th - Food, post, food, architecture, food, park, food


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Turin
August 1st 2012
Published: August 1st 2012
Edit Blog Post

Fetta di polentaFetta di polentaFetta di polenta

crazy building that narrows down to a 70cm point on one side... apparently there is a piano inside that had to be put there before the building was completed!
July 14: Not all better yet, but possibly an improvement... The pasta I ate last night is still mostly inside me. Hoping to get to the post office and lighten my load a bit by taking some of the things that I've bought and mailing them to myself back home. Things like CDs I've bought and some of the books I've finished reading (currently reading "brave new world" by Aldous Huxley as recommended to me by Eva) and after that we will head out and see Torino!

~Later~

Everything you might have about the Italian postal service is true... despite this, we got the stuff sent away successfully and set off on a wander around the city. Again, it is good to know somebody who knows the place and speaks the language... I mean I speak a little Italian but if I try and ask somebody a question or ask for food I'm likely to accidentally insult their auntie or something.

Diana showed me a very odd building (it narrows to a point of 70cm on one side), we went to the museum of cinema and went up in the tower there... to reach the top of the
looking down on everybodylooking down on everybodylooking down on everybody

a view from the top of the Mole Antonelliana
tower you have to go up in this hydraullic lift which rises up through a huge gallery, you have the rather unnerving sensation of floating up because you can't really see the lift mechanisms while you're going up... pretty freaky!

~Laterer~

After those fantastic views we are just stopped for some delicious pizza and calzone!

~Even Laterer~

We went to the park and indulged in the ever popular passtime of getting the hell out of the sun and having a snooze in the shade. After a while we headed back in to the crazed hustle and bustle of central city, had some gelato; peach, alice (pronounced ah-lee-chee, marscapone and cream sort of thing), and the ever popular stracciatella, and then on to do Diana's grocery shopping.

Currently sitting on the balcony facing on to no less than 16 other balconies. I can smell various meals cooking, there's opera coming from somewhere, a couple of arguments and I hear someone's tv... and I love it! I mean I guess I'll happy to eventually go back to the slower, more sparsely populated Dunedin, but this is nice... alive.

After dinner, and a night of laughing our
The gentle art of snoozingThe gentle art of snoozingThe gentle art of snoozing

relaxing in the shade on a boiling hot day in the park
arses off at Lonely Island videos and playing a bit of music, so ends the last night in Turin/Torino.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 39; dbt: 0.0468s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb