Sono arrabbiata


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Piedmont » Turin
January 25th 2009
Published: January 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

We went to Torino this weekend. It was amazing! It was so pretty (even though it was cold, we all missed Rome's weather) and I feel that the people were much nicer. I wish I was about to write a blog about our great weekend and maybe eventually I will, but I have too much on my mind about other things.

On the way back from Torino to Rome, two of our purses were stolen. We put them in a place where we thought it would be safe (I actually thought about the best place to put it that wasn't just me holding on to it), but apparently that wasn't good enough. Abby and I were closest to the door, so our purses were the most convenient. Whoever took them must have crawled below our legs while we were sleeping.

We were woken up 3 separate times to get our tickets checked, and I have no idea why, but the third time (probably at about 4:30am) is when we discovered our stuff was gone. The train staff left (she thought we were just taking a long time to find our ticket), so we went on a wild chase to try and find one of them. I finally found her probably a half hour later, after learned helpless had already kicked in on my part, and I said "our purses were stolen!" (blank stare) "somebody stole our bags!!" At this point, I'm trying desperately to think of Italian... "To steal, is that volare? Is that to steal or to fly? Or both? Or is that French?" Luckily, she finally answered in English, "Check the bathrooms, they might have just taken the money and thrown out the purse." After a little while, another attendant finds me and tells me that they found a purse in the trash. I ask what color it is. Green. It's mine. Abby finds my clutch a little later in a different trash can.

My credit cards, passport, key, etc are still there. I'm missing about 80 euro, 60 american dollars (they left a 20 though, guess they didn't see it), my camera (AGAIN!!!!!!!!!!!!), the 2G memory card inside of it, my Italian cell phone, my coach umbrella that Becky gave me, and a day planner (the only thing that I bought in Torino). We start looking even harder for Abby's purse, but we never found it. It's her birthday, too. What a memorable one that'll be. We figure they kept her purse because she had a Eurorail pass, which can only be used with a passport (not that they check).

The only thing we could do was to get off the train and file a police report in Rome, which we did. Now my only souvenir from Torino is my copy of the police report. We also have to go to the Embassy and fix Abby's missing passport situation. We were going to go this morning, but apparently emergency hours are only M-F 8:30-12:30 (so glad I called).

I know that everything's going to work out and that everything we lost is replaceable and I know that losing the $600 worth of things that were taken from me isn't going to make me live on the streets or anything, but I'm so angry that it happened. I'm really mad that my camera was stolen in Europe twice. I had a weird reaction when I realized that my purse was gone, my reaction was to go into someone else's train car and steal THEIR purse. Of course, I didn't, but I was definitely at the anger stage. I mean, why did this happen to us? Just because we're American girls? There's no other perfect way that we could have prevented this from happening. Even if we slept holding our bags, they could have slashed them.

Anyway, I don't really want to think about this anymore, it's time to move on and recover. This isn't going to stop me from traveling or enjoying myself here.

Advertisement



25th January 2009

Dude...
...that sucks.
25th January 2009

no poop.

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb