Il Nome


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
March 19th 2011
Published: March 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I leave Italy today. It was a short trip. Just kidding, I will be back tonight. I'm doing a day tour of the Swiss Alps.

One of the girls in my room at the hostel is obsessed with outdated music by Destiny's Child. Maybe I wasn't so off base when I hoped to find myself a spice girl. This temporary roommate seems nice enough but she is very homesick so our communication has been contained to a sympathetic smile. And my silent attempts to will her to kill the Destiny's Child. Say my nome, say my nome. When no one is around you say baby I love you, why the sudden change? Say my nome, say my nome.

You will notice I used "nome" versus name, yes my "a" key is still working, I'm just being Italian! Nome is my word of the day.

I learned how to say:
Hello, my name is Annabel. What's your name?
Ciao, mi chiamo Annabel. E tu, come ti chiami? - Note: "nome" has been corrected by a Swiss girl to "chiamo/chiami" because... I'm not really sure why, but this is how you say it.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb