L'Anno


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Milan
March 18th 2011
Published: March 18th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I flew into Milan, well, I thought that's where I was flying. As it turns out I flew into Milano. Doesn't that just roll off the tongue? Say it. Milano; what a fun word. I think this is going to be a fun year. For the next 365 days I'm going to be in this glorious country.

Everyday I promise to learn one new word, maybe more, but at least one. My word of the day today is l'anno. It means year and that's how long this adventure will last. Maybe I should have started learning Italian before my arrival, so if you're planning a trip learn with me! It's the language of love, actually that may be French, but either way it does sound quite romantic.

I'm accustomed to generic airports, you know, with that hospital sort of look but this airport was different. It was beautiful, like a museum. It's warm here, not as warm as I expected, but warm enough. I think it was around 13 degrees, which is not bad for Northern Italy. As I move South I expect it to get warmer.

I haven't met anyone and no girls seem friendly. Everyone seems very posh and fabulous. Every girl is like a taller version of Victoria Beckham and she was Posh Spice, it doesn't get more posh than that.

I checked into Hostel Greco and I got pizza and a drink for four euros. I read that you'll spend $100 everyday in Italy, but you definitely don't have to. I intend to work but I'd like to go a while without working and just enjoy. Even busy people seem more relaxed here. I think I'm going to like it. Hopefully I'll find Baby Spice or Sporty Spice tomorrow.

Appended:
I'm starting a sentence of the day so I have to backlog this one.
Quest'anno, vorrei imparare l'italiano.
It means: I'm going to learn Italian this year.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0516s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb