gliding


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Lake Maggiore
July 23rd 2007
Published: August 17th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday we spent four or so really gorgeous hours on the boat. I got some rest in the sun on the absurdly soft towels David has on the large deck of his private sailboat. We stopped under a large rock slide that sticks straight out of the lake. We anchored and swam next to Angela, Eduardo, Otto, and Linda. They are such a beautiful, sweet, intelligent, and entertaining family. After swimming and a picnic of dried aged meat, bread, pomodori secchi and freschi, we sailed.
The sun was so hot we all took turns being dragged through the water behind the boat. The wind picked up and the sail filled and my hands were gripping the loop at the end of the rope. I looked up at the mountains forming the hole that I was so peacefully gliding through. I enjoyed the water, clean and fresh, not stinky, or cloudy lake water. The walls of the sloping hills are tall and emerald covered with pines, and greens of every shade. The exposed rock displays the foundation and it is beautiful. We sailed like this for hours.
While at their house I decided that I would take their invitation to sail for a week in Croatia. They’ve rented a boat with a friend’s and, well I’ve never been on a sailing trip or to Croatia. We’ll leave Saturday and return the following Saturday, traversing from island to island.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb