Menaggio.


Advertisement
Italy's flag
Europe » Italy » Lombardy » Lake Como
October 22nd 2007
Published: October 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Lake Como is warming up for me. Literally and metaphorically, actually.

Autumn is swiftly kicking Summer to the South, but if you can get out of the wind it's still quite nice. With a sweater on.

I think I'll stay here for a bit. I don't have to be anywhere until Saturday. It's hard for me to stay put, though. I don't want to move because I want to see everything and "get it all in"...I just feel like drifting. Then again, this hostel is really nice and the view from my window is stunning. Lake como is starker than I thought it would be. Maybe that is the approaching winter talking, but there is something to the mountains and the water that is less silky and luxurious than the Mediteranean. Don't get me wrong, it's still absolutely glorious...but different than I expected it to be.

I wish, I wish, I wish I had a laptop on me. Writing by hand is hard for my computer-ready hands...and less satisfying. It takes work. But Jane Austen did it. And so did all the greats. Shakespeare for God's sake. I should stop whinning and get writing.

My time is running out and the hills are calling my name.

Love, al

Advertisement



Tot: 0.201s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb